The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 09, 2001, 11:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 101
i've got one for all you rules gurus:

first, i realize that the case book play 5.10.1D says that "one second must be allowed for normal reaction even when a correction is made."

For those of you without your casebook in front of you...this ruling is in context to an official who is looking at the clock and sees it at 5 seconds when he/she blows the whistle, and then the clock ends up being stopped at 4 sec, 3 sec, or time runs out. The ruling states that if it stops on four it's acceptable, but when you correct the error in the other two situations, the clock is set back to 4 seconds (even though you saw it stopped at 5).

with my apologies, for redundancy, to everyone that knows that ruling by heart...here is my question.

let's say you are looking at the clock WHILE you are blowing your whistle to signal a time-out for Team A. The clock shows 0.8 seconds when you signal the time-out, but because of the "lag time" the clock doesn't stop until time runs out. Are you allowed to place the clock back to 0.8 seconds? According to my understanding and reading of the rule, this would not be allowed, BUT that would just not be right. I know it's my job to enforce the rules and not worry about the "fairness" of them.

Can anyone help?

Thanks,

Jake
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:26am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1