The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 30, 2005, 11:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Good rule citation, but that seems to be a different play.

In the NCAA AR, the official notices the clock starting incorrectly and immediately stops the play by sounding the whistle DURING the throw-in. Under NCAA rules, there is team control during a throw-in and the offense was not given the opportunity to finish the play, so that team is clearly entitled to keeping the possession with another throw-in opportunity. The NCAA only had to make a ruling on from where to conduct the throw-in. (Original location or the spot nearest to where the ball was when the official sounded the whistle.) They have chosen the original location.

Now in your play, you never said anything about an official blowing the whistle during the throw-in. You said that the ball went over everyone's hands and OOB. Therefore, that throw-in was completed, not interrupted as in the NCAA AR. Thus, I think your play doesn't fit within this AR.

Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:06pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1