The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #27 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 13, 2005, 01:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally posted by JRutledge
Quote:
Originally posted by OldCoachNewRef
Rut,

Isn't that what I said? Goal tending could not be called but Basket Interference could? Why are you saying this is wrong? BTW, the net may be touched while the ball is in the cylinder, but not while it is touching the rim.
I took your comment, "The ball may be goal tended" as wrong. The ball can never be goal tended, because goaltending would not apply. You can only goal tend a shot; this example is not a shot. That is really what I meant by you were wrong on this particular issue.
While what he said was stated poorly, it was technically correct. A player may tend the goal (legally) in this case. They may not be called for goaltending, however.

Quote:
Originally posted by JRutledge

Your last comment is not true either. The cylinder is the rim for starters. Look at Rule 4-6-1. A player cannot touch the ball or any part of the basket (including the net) while the ball is on or within either basket.
His last comment is true. The net or rim may be legally contacted while the ball is in the cylinder but not on the rim. The rim is NOT the same as the cylinder.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:34pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1