Quote:
Originally posted by OldCoachNewRef
Rut,
Isn't that what I said? Goal tending could not be called but Basket Interference could? Why are you saying this is wrong? BTW, the net may be touched while the ball is in the cylinder, but not while it is touching the rim.
|
I took your comment, "The ball may be goal tended" as wrong. The ball can never be goal tended, because goaltending would not apply. You can only goal tend a shot; this example is not a shot. That is really what I meant by you were wrong on this particular issue.
Your last comment is not true either. The cylinder is the rim for starters.

Look at Rule 4-6-1. A player cannot touch the ball or any part of the basket (including the net) while the ball is on or within either basket.
It might sound like semantics, but when you say someone can goal tend, that is just not a true statement.
Peace