![]() |
|
|||
A student asked me - "What if I shoot a 3 point attempt, and it is really high and short. It bounces, then goes in the basket without having touched anything but the floor between me and the basket. Is it a 3?" - I can't seem to find anything in the rules saying that it shouldn't be, because it was a 3 point try. I guess, realistically, this isn't likely to happen, but maybe a 3 point attempt at the buzzer from a long way down the court that bounces before the buzzer, and slipped when it was released so it went way high and short, and then was really lucky.
What do you think?
__________________
David A. Rinke II |
|
|||
It would count as a three.
NFHS 5-2: "Three points are awarded for any ball thrown, passed or shot beyond the 19 foot 9 inch line that passes through the goal. Any other goal from the field counts 2 points for the team into whose basket the ball is thrown." --------------------------------- If the buzzer went off before the bounce: the ball would become dead as soon as it hit the ground. If the buzzer went off after the bounce: The basket would count. NFHS 6-7-5: "The ball becomes dead when time expires except while a try for a field goal or a tapped ball by a player toward their basket is in flight." "Flight" ends when the ball hits the ground. --------------------------------- That's my interpretation. So what did you tell the kid? |
|
|||
We have discussed this before. From what I can remember it would only count as two points because the shot ended when it hit the floor. Two points would be awarded for a live ball entering the basket (assuming the clock had not expired).
|
|
|||
The 3-point try ended when it became apparant that the attempt will not go in. IOW, when it became lower than ring level. However, a live ball went legally through through the basket - count 2 points.
__________________
Pope Francis |
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
David A. Rinke II |
|
|||
![]() Quote:
Even the rule you sited says "thrown, passed or shot." It does not say bounced. A try ends when it touches the floor. If it then vbounces into the basket, it would count as 2 points. 4-40-4 The try ends when the throw is successful, when it is certain the throw is unsuccessful, when the thrown ball touches the floor or when the ball becomes dead. [Edited by BktBallRef on May 10th, 2005 at 11:40 PM] |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() |
|
|||
Re: 3 point shot
Quote:
__________________
David A. Rinke II |
|
|||
At first glance, no.
Quote:
Rule 4-22 Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
Re: Re: 3 point shot
Quote:
|
|
|||
Re: 3 point shot
Quote:
BI would, however, still apply.
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all." |
|
|||
Goal Tend
Could the attempt be goal tended by the defense "after" it hits the floor?
So the answer is yes, it may be goal tended. Basket Interference may be called if ball is in the cylinder or on the rim just like any pass or shot attempt. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|