The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 22, 2001, 03:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 378
Perhaps, but . . .

Quote:
Originally posted by walter
How true, how true!!! This was one of the first things my supervisor and my partners told me when I started. If that shot clock hits 25 and the ball still has backcourt status without a change in team control you better be blowing the whistle.
The only problem I see with that "rule of thumb" is that the shot clock and 10-second counts do not necessarily start at the same time on a throw-in. The shot clock starts as soon as the ball touches or is touched by a player on the court. The 10-second count begins when an offensive player secures control of the ball. In a press situation, there could be a deflection by either team and a second or more delay before the inbounding team controls the ball and begins working it upcourt. Therefore, you'd have to be careful about whistling a 10-second violation simply because the shot clock shows 25 seconds. The arm movement for the count can be independent of the clock in some situations, and would, in such instances, be more than just for show.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:24pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1