View Single Post
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 22, 2001, 03:41pm
Todd VandenAkker Todd VandenAkker is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 378
Perhaps, but . . .

Quote:
Originally posted by walter
How true, how true!!! This was one of the first things my supervisor and my partners told me when I started. If that shot clock hits 25 and the ball still has backcourt status without a change in team control you better be blowing the whistle.
The only problem I see with that "rule of thumb" is that the shot clock and 10-second counts do not necessarily start at the same time on a throw-in. The shot clock starts as soon as the ball touches or is touched by a player on the court. The 10-second count begins when an offensive player secures control of the ball. In a press situation, there could be a deflection by either team and a second or more delay before the inbounding team controls the ball and begins working it upcourt. Therefore, you'd have to be careful about whistling a 10-second violation simply because the shot clock shows 25 seconds. The arm movement for the count can be independent of the clock in some situations, and would, in such instances, be more than just for show.
Reply With Quote