The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 17, 2005, 04:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 744
Question

Today in an NBA game, Lebron James was driving the lane. Detroit's Elden Campbell was shielded from James by a Cleveland teammate. Campbell pushed the teammate into James, causing contact on the shot attempt. Official called a foul on Campbell and sent James to the line for two shots.

Campbell never touched James. What's the deal here?

In a high school game, I would most likely give Campbell an intentional foul on the teammate, killing the play. Then give the teammate two shots, and give Cleveland back the ball.

Is there some strange rule in the NBA where you can commit a common foul when you don't even touch the guy? Or is this just another case of the NBA protecting a star player and making up the rules as they go?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 17, 2005, 05:22pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by TriggerMN
Today in an NBA game, Lebron James was driving the lane. Detroit's Elden Campbell was shielded from James by a Cleveland teammate. Campbell pushed the teammate into James, causing contact on the shot attempt. Official called a foul on Campbell and sent James to the line for two shots.

In a high school game, I would most likely give Campbell an intentional foul on the teammate, killing the play. Then give the teammate two shots, and give Cleveland back the ball.

Under NFHS rules, why would you kill the play on an intentional foul that occurs during an attempted shot? The foul doesn't make the ball dead even though it's committed on the shooter's teammate-- as long as the shooter has begun the act of shooting. If it goes, you count it and then give the shooter's fouled teammate 2 FT's and the ball OOB at the closest spot for a throw-in.

Rules references are rule 6-7Exception3 and casebook plays 6.7COMMENT & 6.7SitC,D.

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 18, 2005, 09:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 744
Thumbs up

Thanks, JR. You are absolutely right. I was mixing up intentional and technical rules. Intentional does not cause the ball to become dead. Thanks much.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 18, 2005, 11:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
I'm pretty sure that there is a casebook play in the NBA Q & A on this exact play. Unfortunately, my book is about 2000 miles away right now. Maybe proref or somebody can look it up for you.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 18, 2005, 12:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
I'm pretty sure that there is a casebook play in the NBA Q & A on this exact play. Unfortunately, my book is about 2000 miles away right now. Maybe proref or somebody can look it up for you.
Uhhh, Chuck, the approved response is "unfortunately, my book is in MTD's attic behind the monument to J Dallas Shirley right now".

Please use it in future responses. Failure to comply will be dealt with swiftly.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 18, 2005, 12:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 85
Would it have to be an intentional foul?

If the def player is trying to get in position to challenge the shot or get rebounding position and shoves the off player into the shooter, could it not just be called a pushing foul and the non-shooting player get FT's OR ball out of bounds.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 18, 2005, 01:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 411
NBA Case Book 150

Player A1 is in the act of shooting.j(James) Player B1(Campbell) pushes Player A2 into Player A1(the shooter) How is this play administered if Team B is in the penalty?

A personal foul is assessed Player B1. If the field goal attempt is successful, Player A2 is awarded one FT attempt regardless of the penalty situation. If the field goal attempt is unsuccessful, Player A1 shall be awarded two FT attempts.

Rule 12B-Section 1-Penalty (3)(4)
__________________
There's a fine line between "hobby", and mental illness.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 18, 2005, 08:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally posted by DrakeM
NBA Case Book 150

Player A1 is in the act of shooting.j(James) Player B1(Campbell) pushes Player A2 into Player A1(the shooter) How is this play administered if Team B is in the penalty?

A personal foul is assessed Player B1. If the field goal attempt is successful, Player A2 is awarded one FT attempt regardless of the penalty situation. If the field goal attempt is unsuccessful, Player A1 shall be awarded two FT attempts.

Rule 12B-Section 1-Penalty (3)(4)

IOW, they got it right!!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:26pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1