The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Teammate pushed into shooter (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/19774-teammate-pushed-into-shooter.html)

TriggerMN Sun Apr 17, 2005 04:32pm

Today in an NBA game, Lebron James was driving the lane. Detroit's Elden Campbell was shielded from James by a Cleveland teammate. Campbell pushed the teammate into James, causing contact on the shot attempt. Official called a foul on Campbell and sent James to the line for two shots.

Campbell never touched James. What's the deal here?

In a high school game, I would most likely give Campbell an intentional foul on the teammate, killing the play. Then give the teammate two shots, and give Cleveland back the ball.

Is there some strange rule in the NBA where you can commit a common foul when you don't even touch the guy? Or is this just another case of the NBA protecting a star player and making up the rules as they go?

Jurassic Referee Sun Apr 17, 2005 05:22pm

Quote:

Originally posted by TriggerMN
Today in an NBA game, Lebron James was driving the lane. Detroit's Elden Campbell was shielded from James by a Cleveland teammate. Campbell pushed the teammate into James, <font color = red>causing contact on the shot attempt</font>. Official called a foul on Campbell and sent James to the line for two shots.

In a high school game, I would most likely give Campbell an intentional foul on the teammate, <font color = red>killing the play</font>. Then give the teammate two shots, and give Cleveland back the ball.


Under NFHS rules, why would you kill the play on an intentional foul that occurs during an attempted shot? The foul doesn't make the ball dead even though it's committed on the shooter's teammate-- as long as the shooter has begun the act of shooting. If it goes, you count it and then give the shooter's fouled teammate 2 FT's and the ball OOB at the closest spot for a throw-in.

Rules references are rule 6-7Exception3 and casebook plays 6.7COMMENT & 6.7SitC,D.


TriggerMN Mon Apr 18, 2005 09:22am

Thanks, JR. You are absolutely right. I was mixing up intentional and technical rules. Intentional does not cause the ball to become dead. Thanks much.

ChuckElias Mon Apr 18, 2005 11:49am

I'm pretty sure that there is a casebook play in the NBA Q & A on this exact play. Unfortunately, my book is about 2000 miles away right now. Maybe proref or somebody can look it up for you.

Dan_ref Mon Apr 18, 2005 12:22pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
I'm pretty sure that there is a casebook play in the NBA Q & A on this exact play. Unfortunately, my book is about 2000 miles away right now. Maybe proref or somebody can look it up for you.
Uhhh, Chuck, the approved response is "unfortunately, my book is in MTD's attic behind the monument to J Dallas Shirley right now".

Please use it in future responses. Failure to comply will be dealt with swiftly.

TigerBball Mon Apr 18, 2005 12:56pm

Would it have to be an intentional foul?

If the def player is trying to get in position to challenge the shot or get rebounding position and shoves the off player into the shooter, could it not just be called a pushing foul and the non-shooting player get FT's OR ball out of bounds.

DrakeM Mon Apr 18, 2005 01:02pm

NBA Case Book 150

Player A1 is in the act of shooting.j(James) Player B1(Campbell) pushes Player A2 into Player A1(the shooter) How is this play administered if Team B is in the penalty?

A personal foul is assessed Player B1. If the field goal attempt is successful, Player A2 is awarded one FT attempt regardless of the penalty situation. If the field goal attempt is unsuccessful, Player A1 shall be awarded two FT attempts.

Rule 12B-Section 1-Penalty (3)(4)

BktBallRef Mon Apr 18, 2005 08:02pm

Quote:

Originally posted by DrakeM
NBA Case Book 150

Player A1 is in the act of shooting.j(James) Player B1(Campbell) pushes Player A2 into Player A1(the shooter) How is this play administered if Team B is in the penalty?

A personal foul is assessed Player B1. If the field goal attempt is successful, Player A2 is awarded one FT attempt regardless of the penalty situation. If the field goal attempt is unsuccessful, Player A1 shall be awarded two FT attempts.

Rule 12B-Section 1-Penalty (3)(4)


IOW, they got it right!! ;)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:57am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1