The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Jump Ball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/19292-jump-ball.html)

Adam Fri Mar 25, 2005 10:33am

Quote:

Originally posted by Nevadaref
Quote:

Originally posted by Snaqwells

When a player lifts his pivot foot, he is limited to what he can do. I will assume he jumped for the layup, lifting his pivot foot. Once he does that, he must either shoot, pass, or call timeout. If he starts a dribble, it's a travel. If he passes and retrieves his own pass, it's a travel. So, if it hits the backboard, he has started a dribble and it will be a travel when he touches it again. If it just hits the rim, it's a travel as soon as two things have happened: his pivot foot has returned, and he has touched the ball again.

I'm feeling overly anal this morning. :)

Adam,
Since you wish to be precise, I'll tell you that you have brought up a great point about travelling also including starting a dribble after lifting the pivot foot.

However, the play in question (hit the opponent's ring, not the backboard, and catch the ball WITHOUT it hitting the floor) is still an illegal dribble and not a travel because the ball never hit the floor.
Therefore, the player never dribbled, so you can't call him for travelling due to starting a dribble after lifting his pivot. Case play 4.15.4 Sit D is still the best ruling.

Also, if the player never jumps, but "shoots" at the wrong goal from the floor, and then runs over and catches the ball off the ring, you can't make that case for travelling.

Unless the ball hits the floor, I believe that illegal dribble is the only correct call.

If A1 jumps in the air, throws a pass, and retrieves it without the ball hitting the floor, it's a travel. That's what I have on this case. It's not a try for goal, so it's got to be covered under the same rules as a pass.

If this isn't a pass, then it's a shot. I don't see a third option under the rules. If it's a shot, then the player can proceed to dribble and you can't call anything even if he airballs it. If it's not a shot, then he travels if he gets the rebound on a jump shot to the wrong basket.

assignmentmaker Sun Mar 27, 2005 12:44pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:

Originally posted by Daryl H. Long
Quote:

Originally posted by bballrob
OK, so now what are ya gonna do when B1 fouls her as she's attempting the layup at the wrong basket?:D
Call foul on B!

Why? Where's the disadvantage? He's not shooting, so there's no disadvantage there. All he can do if he touches the ball again is violate, so you're not putting him at a disadvantage there.

The only person being disadvantaged is B1, as he is trying to prevent A1 from giving his team two points.

Very nice! I think I can get you a match with the Devil . . .

johnny1784 Sun Mar 27, 2005 01:59pm

Re: Thank you very much, I'll be here all weekend! Don't forget to tip your waitress!
 
Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:

Originally posted by Nevadaref
I just checked. There is no mention of the ring in the rule.
Which is exactly why I asked Snaq why he would whistle a double dribble as soon as the player caught the "rebound."

It's okay, NV, I can wait for you to catch up. ;)

Do you really tip the waitress after eating out?

johnny1784 Sun Mar 27, 2005 02:06pm

Quote:

Originally posted by buckrog64
Just be a whole lot easier if the player could make a layup.
LOL!!!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:56pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1