Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
[So.......you're saying that the wording used by the FED in R4-29 is inaccurate, in that the only action covered in the rule is the act of "striking".
|
Pretty much, yes. Earlier in the thread, somebody equated "touching" with "striking" and I was merely commenting that the two are not the same. That's all.
I would agree with the person who posted that the wording should be intentionally "contacting" the ball with the leg, rather than intentionally kicking the ball. You can still call it a kick if you want, but define a kick as any intentional contact with the ball on the leg. That would cover the original case in this thread. Because pretty clearly in the original case, the ball was not kicked by any normal standard of the word.
As I've already said (twice, I think), the original play should be ruled a violation; but technically, it's probably not if we go strictly by the wording of the rulebook.