The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 18, 2005, 01:02am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally posted by JosephG678
Ok, here's one for all of you. I got this tricky question from a coach:

During an interrupted dribble (coach did not use these words, obviously), A1 requests a timeout (I know, the request should NOT be granted, however the offical blew his whistle and some ruling had to be made). Here are the three scenarios I thought of now that play has stopped:

1)Erroneously grant the timeout as in casebook 5.8.3 sit E
2)Inadvertant whistle, go to the AP
3)Call a technical foul on A (thought it would be a team technical) for requesting a time-out when not having team control (assuming this was not an excess time0out)

He said this happened to him in a game and wanted to know how I would handle it.

After a few responses, I will tell you what happened in his game, and what I told him I would do.

I hope this generates some discussion!

There's not much to discuss. It's an inadvertant whistle, but once play is stopped you grant the time out. THEN go to AP.

It's not a technical foul for a coach to request a TO when he cant have it.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:43am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1