The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 07, 2005, 03:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,226
Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
I know, I know. After simultaneous fouls, you go to the arrow. But how about. . .

A1 is fouled by B1 while in the act of shooting. At the same time, B2 is fouled by A2. So we have simultaneous fouls, but one of them was committed against a shooter.

So it seems that there are some options:

1) No free throws, just go to the arrow.
2) Shoot 2 FTs with nobody on the lane and then go to the arrow.
3) Shoot 2 FTs with players on the lane and continue as after any normal FT.

I think #3 is right out, even though that's what actually happened in the game that I heard about (about 15th-hand). So the question is, is A1 allowed to shoot FTs for being fouled in the act of shooting if his teammate commits a foul at the same time?


How about this twist. A1 is fouled by B1 while in the act of shooting. At the same time, A2 and B2 foul each other. How do we administer that one? Seems like the same options apply.
I don't see why this is treated any differently than a double foul, with one of the fouls being on the shooter. Treat as in 4.19.7C

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:03am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1