The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 25, 2005, 10:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 7
Help me to understand the rule on an intentional foul. Is any foul, away from the ball, where the defender is making no attempt to play or make a play on the ball an intentional foul?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 25, 2005, 10:45pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 7,858
Quote:
Originally posted by ETSUOfficial
Help me to understand the rule on an intentional foul. Is any foul, away from the ball, where the defender is making no attempt to play or make a play on the ball an intentional foul?

The answer to your question is no. A1 is in control of the ball and is guarded by B1. B2 sees A2 moving toward A1 in attempt to receive a possible pass from A1. B2 attempts to set a screen against A2 but does not give proper time and distance when setting his screen agains A2 and causes illegal contact with A2. This foul is away from the ball, but is not an intentional foul.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 25, 2005, 10:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Quote:
Originally posted by ETSUOfficial
Help me to understand the rule on an intentional foul. Is any foul, away from the ball, where the defender is making no attempt to play or make a play on the ball an intentional foul?

The answer to your question is no. A1 is in control of the ball and is guarded by B1. B2 sees A2 moving toward A1 in attempt to receive a possible pass from A1. B2 attempts to set a screen against A2 but does not give proper time and distance when setting his screen agains A2 and causes illegal contact with A2. This foul is away from the ball, but is not an intentional foul.

MTD, Sr.
An an inbounds play. A1 is inbounding the ball. While A1 is still holding onto the ball, B2 fouls A2 as A2 is trying to get position to recieve the inbounds pass. Ruling?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 25, 2005, 10:59pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 29,882
Quote:
Originally posted by ETSUOfficial


An an inbounds play. A1 is inbounding the ball. While A1 is still holding onto the ball, B2 fouls A2 as A2 is trying to get position to recieve the inbounds pass. Ruling?
That is just a foul. Unless A2 just grabbed them with no attempt to defend the player, all I have is just a foul. A gets the ball out of bounds or shooting bonus FTs if A is in the bonus.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 25, 2005, 11:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally posted by ETSUOfficial
Help me to understand the rule on an intentional foul. Is any foul, away from the ball, where the defender is making no attempt to play or make a play on the ball an intentional foul?
Plays away from the ball are called intentional when it is clear that the purpose of the foul is to stop the clock, or take away an obvious advantage. Any foul can be called intentional if it's clearly excessive contact. Look in the casebook under 4.19.3, There are some good examples there.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 26, 2005, 10:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,104
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by ETSUOfficial
An an inbounds play. A1 is inbounding the ball. While A1 is still holding onto the ball, B2 fouls A2 as A2 is trying to get position to recieve the inbounds pass. Ruling?
You're thinking of the NBA's "Away-from-the-play" foul, which is in effect in the last 2 minutes of the 4th quarter or any overtime period. In that situation, your play would be an away-from-the-play foul. One FT for anyone on the floor at the time and possession at the spot of the original throw-in.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:03am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1