The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 25, 2005, 09:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 24
Team A is leading by two points with .9 sec.to go.Team B throws the ball the length of the court and is caught by a Team B player. Team B player is fouled as he shoots, however the ball has not left the hands as time expires. What's the call?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 25, 2005, 09:07am
Huck Finn
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 3,347
Quote:
Originally posted by refman
Team A is leading by two points with .9 sec.to go.Team B throws the ball the length of the court and is caught by a Team B player. Team B player is fouled as he shoots, however the ball has not left the hands as time expires. What's the call?
Blue 23, illegal use of hands
__________________
"Be more concerned with your character than your reputation, because your character is what you really are, while your reputation is merely what others think you are." -- John Wooden
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 25, 2005, 09:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,592
2 free throws.

I'm hoping he doesn't hit em both because then we've got Bonus Basketball.
__________________
Do you ever feel like your stuff strutted off without you?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 25, 2005, 09:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 16
Lanes cleared, he gets one shot. If he misses game over. If he makes it, he gets the 2nd to tie or go home.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 25, 2005, 10:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 201
Quote:
Originally posted by tonyp
Lanes cleared, he gets one shot. If he misses game over. If he makes it, he gets the 2nd to tie or go home.
Why clear the lanes for the FT attempt? Aren't the defense required to take the low spots?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 25, 2005, 10:16am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
No. Anytime the ball becomes dead after the FT(s), no players are allowed along the lane.

Do you have players along the lane during technical, intentional, or flagrant foul FTs?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 25, 2005, 10:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NV
Posts: 153
Wink

This is the IU/Purdue scenario. The big ten actually had a press release that said the officials booted it. Even after the R went to the monitor, they still booted it. The R said even though the clock had expired before the release, he gave them "continuation" and counted the basket and gave them 1 shot.
There is something to be said about knowing the rules and then applying them.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 25, 2005, 10:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 201
Tnx. I was good with the T, flagrant and intentional that the lanes were cleared out. I've never had a foul at the end of the game. Now if the FT's wouldn't make a difference in the outcome, do you just report the foul and not award the tosses and call the game over?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 25, 2005, 10:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Don't even bother with reporting the foul. Just get!!

[Edited by BktBallRef on Jan 25th, 2005 at 10:35 AM]
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 25, 2005, 10:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally posted by Almost Always Right
This is the IU/Purdue scenario. The big ten actually had a press release that said the officials booted it. Even after the R went to the monitor, they still booted it. The R said even though the clock had expired before the release, he gave them "continuation" and counted the basket and gave them 1 shot.
There is something to be said about knowing the rules and then applying them.
Yes, we know.

http://www.officialforum.com/thread/17736
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 25, 2005, 10:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 696
Lanes cleared, he gets one shot. If he misses game over. If he makes it, he gets the 2nd to tie or go home.

Tonyp said the above. Is this correct? Yes the contest is decided but wouldn't the kid still get the Xtra Freethrow anyway?

__________________
"Sports do not build character. They reveal it" - Heywood H. Broun
"Officiating does not build character. It reveal's it" - Ref Daddy
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 25, 2005, 10:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally posted by Ref Daddy
Lanes cleared, he gets one shot. If he misses game over. If he makes it, he gets the 2nd to tie or go home.

Tonyp said the above. Is this correct? Yes the contest is decided but wouldn't the kid still get the Xtra Freethrow anyway?
No, he wouldn't. You don't shoot FTs after time has expired that would not effect the outcome of the game.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 25, 2005, 10:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 696

Excellent! Thanks. You are right on!


SECTION 6 BEGINNING, END OF QUARTER OR EXTRA PERIOD

EXCEPTION: No free throw(s) shall be attempted after time has expired for the fourth quarter or any extra period, unless the point(s) would affect the outcome of the game.
__________________
"Sports do not build character. They reveal it" - Heywood H. Broun
"Officiating does not build character. It reveal's it" - Ref Daddy
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:09pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1