The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 20, 2005, 02:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,674
Quote:
Originally posted by jritchie
i had a small college game the other night, A1 going in for a layup, ball hits backboard and imo still on it's way up.. i have no call...coach go crazy wanting a goaltend...next trip down we shoot freethrows and i'm next to the coach and he asked me why no call...he said, "it hit the backboard first, they can't touch it right" i told him, that it was still on it's way up and it wasn't in the imaginary cylinder above the rim and it wasn't touching the rim, so it was a legal block!!!! Is this a correct interpretation of the rule or did i miss something????? i told him i would get back with him on the rule and from what i read i'm pretty sure i got it right....
You were right, but what you described to the coach was basket interference, not goaltending.

Downward flight, above the rim, with a chance to go in, and the ball is NOT touching an imaginary cylinder with the basket ring as it's base.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:37am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1