Quote:
	
	
		
			
				Originally posted by jritchie  
i had a small college game the other night, A1 going in for a layup, ball hits backboard and imo still on it's way up.. i have no call...coach go crazy wanting a goaltend...next trip down we shoot freethrows and i'm next to the coach and he asked me why no call...he said, "it hit the backboard first, they can't touch it right"   i told him, that it was still on it's way up and it wasn't in the imaginary cylinder  above the rim and it wasn't touching the rim, so it was a legal block!!!!   Is this a correct interpretation of the rule or did i miss something?????     i told him i would get back with him on the rule and from what i read i'm pretty sure i got it right.... 
			
		 | 
	
	
 You were right, but what you described to the coach was basket interference, not goaltending.
Downward flight, above the rim, with a chance to go in, and the ball is NOT touching an imaginary cylinder with the basket ring as it's base.