The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 19, 2005, 09:13am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by Snaqwells
In this case, an absence of specific mention indicate that it's legal.
[/B]
You got me confused on this one, Snaqs. In this case, it is specifically mentioned in NFHS rule 4-4-5, as posted above. That rule states that the edges of a back board are treated as being in bounds. [/B][/QUOTE]

Sorry, JR.
I was referring more to jdmara's objection that he couldn't find anything directly stating "the bottom" of the backboard. You are correct regarding the "edges," obviously. However, it seems jdmara was looking for something along the lines of "if the ball hits the bottom of the backboard, it is not a violation."
It's like saying, "If a player takes more than one step between dribbles, it's not a violation." You don't need the wording because the travel rule doesn't prohibit it; but I believe it is might be there somewhere as a note or something.

Adam
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:46am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1