The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 17, 2005, 11:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
NFHS rule 2-7-4-- "The officials shall conduct the game in accordance with the rules.This includes prohibiting practice during a dead ball, except between halves".

There's no penalty listed.

Cmathews, under which rule did you assess the "T" without warning the player first? Or am I assuming wrong that you didn't warn the player first?
I agree, JR. There is no penalty for this. You simply put a stop to it. There is no justification for a technical foul here.
The delay of game T, mentioned by Boomer, wouldn't even be appropriate because this action happened after a time-out was granted. 10-3-6b specifically says "when a violation or a foul is called." This is because the player's actions prevent the official from promptly administering the ensuing throw-in. This is not true after the game is stopped for a time-out.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:32pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1