|  | 
| 
 | |||
| 
			
			B1 makes a steal and heads in the wrong direction and pulls up for a jumper.  Coach yells at the player in mid-shot and the player throws up an airball and then goes and retrieves the ball.  My partner called a traveling violation.  Is this a traveling violation? 
		 | 
| 
 | |||
| Quote: 
 | 
| 
 | |||
|   Quote: 
 | 
| 
 | |||
| Quote: 
 this is only a violation in the NBA. | 
| 
 | |||
| 
			
			Jurrasic, I gotta disagree. Talking HS and NCAA, when a player shoots (what we deem a legitimate shot attempt) there is no player control. If he airballs a shot attempt (again this is at his own basket, not the opponent's) he can be the first to touch the ball and there is no double dribble or travel. | 
| 
 | |||
| Quote: 
 Good catch, Smitty. | 
| 
 | |||
| Quote: 
 | 
| 
 | |||
| 
			
			No problem.  I read your post twice trying to figure out what I was missing and then by the time I posted my response, Smitty had beaten me to the punch! I was just so confused by your post because you are usually very accurate with your rules knowledge. I had to pause and question myself for a minute there   | 
| 
 | |||
| 
			
			as long as he didn't touch the ball after he throw it off the opponent's backboard. I thought it was an "airball"? 
				__________________ Dan Ivey Tri-City Sports Officials Asso. (TCSOA) Member since 1989 Richland, WA | 
| 
 | |||
| Quote: 
 | 
|  | 
| Bookmarks | 
| 
 |  |