The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Travel (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/17601-travel.html)

lds7199 Thu Jan 13, 2005 03:42pm

B1 makes a steal and heads in the wrong direction and pulls up for a jumper. Coach yells at the player in mid-shot and the player throws up an airball and then goes and retrieves the ball. My partner called a traveling violation. Is this a traveling violation?

BBall_Junkie Thu Jan 13, 2005 03:46pm

Yes, as a shot at the opponents basket does not constitute a legitimate shot attempt.

Jurassic Referee Thu Jan 13, 2005 03:46pm

Quote:

Originally posted by lds7199
B1 makes a steal and heads in the wrong direction and pulls up for a jumper. Coach yells at the player in mid-shot and the player throws up an airball and then goes and retrieves the ball. My partner called a traveling violation. Is this a traveling violation?
Nope, it's not travelling but it is an illegal second dribble. No change of team possession when shooting at the wrong basket.

Jurassic Referee Thu Jan 13, 2005 03:48pm

Quote:

Originally posted by BBall_Junkie
Yes, as a shot at the opponents basket does not constitute a legitimate shot attempt.
You're right, but I nit-picked ya. :D

BBall_Junkie Thu Jan 13, 2005 03:54pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by BBall_Junkie
Yes, as a shot at the opponents basket does not constitute a legitimate shot attempt.
You're right, but I nit-picked ya. :D

I can live with that!

ctpfive Thu Jan 13, 2005 04:12pm

So, if you shoot an airball at your own basket and go retrieve it - it is not a violation.

BBall_Junkie Thu Jan 13, 2005 04:14pm

Quote:

Originally posted by sfriede
So, if you shoot an airball at your own basket and go retrieve it - it is not a violation.
correct, so long as in the official's judgement, it was a legitimate shot attempt.

this is only a violation in the NBA.

Smitty Thu Jan 13, 2005 04:41pm

Don't you guys mean your opponent's basket? If you shoot at your own basket and throw an airball, you can go get the rebound and dribble, pass or shoot again.

BBall_Junkie Thu Jan 13, 2005 05:01pm

Jurrasic,

I gotta disagree. Talking HS and NCAA, when a player shoots (what we deem a legitimate shot attempt) there is no player control. If he airballs a shot attempt (again this is at his own basket, not the opponent's) he can be the first to touch the ball and there is no double dribble or travel.

Jurassic Referee Thu Jan 13, 2005 05:09pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Smitty
Don't you guys mean your opponent's basket? If you shoot at your own basket and throw an airball, you can go get the rebound and dribble, pass or shoot again.
Yup, you're completely right. i mis-read sfriede's last post. I'll go back and delete my last post, as it is both wrong and stoopid.

Good catch, Smitty.

Jurassic Referee Thu Jan 13, 2005 05:11pm

Quote:

Originally posted by BBall_Junkie
Jurrasic,

I gotta disagree. Talking HS and NCAA, when a player shoots (what we deem a legitimate shot attempt) there is no player control. If he airballs a shot attempt (again this is at his own basket, not the opponent's) he can be the first to touch the ball and there is no double dribble or travel.

And you would be right to disagree. I misread the post and answered it wrong.

BBall_Junkie Thu Jan 13, 2005 05:21pm

No problem. I read your post twice trying to figure out what I was missing and then by the time I posted my response, Smitty had beaten me to the punch!

I was just so confused by your post because you are usually very accurate with your rules knowledge. I had to pause and question myself for a minute there ;)

Adam Thu Jan 13, 2005 08:11pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by lds7199
B1 makes a steal and heads in the wrong direction and pulls up for a jumper. Coach yells at the player in mid-shot and the player throws up an airball and then goes and retrieves the ball. My partner called a traveling violation. Is this a traveling violation?
Nope, it's not travelling but it is an illegal second dribble. No change of team possession when shooting at the wrong basket.

Wait a second. I've got traveling here. Player is lifting his pivot foot and then starting a dribble: traveling.

RookieDude Thu Jan 13, 2005 08:50pm

as long as he didn't touch the ball after he throw it off the opponent's backboard.

I thought it was an "airball"?

Jurassic Referee Thu Jan 13, 2005 08:55pm

Quote:

Originally posted by RookieDude
as long as he didn't touch the ball after he throw it off the opponent's backboard.

I thought it was an "airball"?

I just deleted that post because of that fact.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:36pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1