The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 13, 2005, 01:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,674
Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by blindzebra
6-7-5 exception The ball does not become dead on an official's whistle UNTIL THE TRY ENDS.
I know that. But technically, there's no team control when the try ends, even if it goes in. That's the whole point. There's no team control at the "point of interruption", for lack of a better term. So how do we justify not going to the arrow? We have an inadvertant whistle with no team control. I don't know of any exception in the FED book that says "give it to the team that would have gotten control if the whistle hadn't blown". Is there such an exception?
It's called common sense.

If we have an inadvertant whistle, after the release 6-7-5-E allows for the shot to count, would that not LOGICALLY move the c) during a try, to d) after a made goal?

If not one team, depending on the arrow, is losing the ball they should be getting like after any other made basket.



Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:03am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1