The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 10, 2005, 12:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 37
Hi,

I'm a non-ref fan, and I've always wondered what the rule is when someone makes illegal contact (on the hand or elbow or body) with the shooter after the ball has already been released.

I can't tell if it's called consistently one way or another. In some sense, it seems to me that it shouldn't be a shooting foul, since the contact could not affect the shot. But it's often called as such.

This came up Saturday in the UConn-Tennessee women's game in the final seconds, when Ann Strother got hit on the body after releasing a three-point attempt. It almost looked to me like it should have been a foul on the box out, but they gave her three shots.

thanks much! I've enjoyed poking around here to learn more about the rules!
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:16pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1