The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 07, 2005, 02:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: NeverNeverLand
Posts: 1,037
Here is one play of the game where a T was called.

SCU player chases down a loose ball going OOB, player jumps and controls the ball in the air, throws the ball back into play and hits GONZ player in the shins. PSST! Official call a T immediately.

What I heard on tv after the play was that earlier in the game, a GONZ player threw the ball at a SCU player, maybe even the same two players were involved in this play.

A question I have, would it be justified under the rules to call a T here in this situation based on what happened earlier in the game?

I understand getting control of the game, but, this was the end of the game and the play IMO was definately not unsporting.

__________________
"A picture is worth a thousand words".
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 07, 2005, 02:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,910
The play you described happened one possession immediately following the double T I described earlier. I felt that the official called it for 2 reasons, because the player had time to stop his actions after a foul was called on the play and the fact that there was a double T on the previous play so they didn't want things to get out of hand. The T in the first half was for a player spiking the ball after a call.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 07, 2005, 02:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,191
Quote:
Originally posted by rockyroad
Quote:
Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:
Originally posted by TimTaylor

In the military it's called a "Charlie Foxtrot" - and no I won't elaborate :-)
I'm not asking!
I get it, and I am shocked - SHOCKED, I tell you - that an Oregonian would belittle the election process of a neighboring state...shocked!!
Especially when said person knows how much words can hurt.

Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 07, 2005, 05:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:
Originally posted by rockyroad
Quote:
Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:
Originally posted by TimTaylor

In the military it's called a "Charlie Foxtrot" - and no I won't elaborate :-)
I'm not asking!
I get it, and I am shocked - SHOCKED, I tell you - that an Oregonian would belittle the election process of a neighboring state...shocked!!
Especially when said person knows how much words can hurt.

Hey, now wait a minute, I didn't say the hurtful words!! It was Tim that said them. He is a pretty gentle guy, as a rule, and I'm sure he knows how words can hurt, but he's not who you are referring to, is he?
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 08, 2005, 04:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 423
What the announcers failed to inform us about on that play was that a foul was called before the player threw the ball at the GONZ player and he could have stopped. Once again they caused tons of confusion.
Reply With Quote
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 08, 2005, 11:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 744
I felt all T's were warranted. On the double technical, two players were on the ground, pushing and shoving, while Santa Clara was going the other way with a fast break. The official correctly let SC have the fast break, then gave the double technical after the break was over. This was the second technical of the game on the SC guy, however the table did not inform the officials of this until later in the game.

Now I realize that since T's happen so infrequently, the officials probably should have realized this without help from the table, but I've got to give at least equal blame to the table for this mistake.

On the last technical, I agree with the above. The whistle for a common foul had long since blown when the SC kid threw the ball at the GONZ kid.
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 08, 2005, 02:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 4,801
Quote:
Originally posted by TriggerMN

Now I realize that since T's happen so infrequently, the officials probably should have realized this without help from the table, but I've got to give at least equal blame to the table for this mistake.
I don't know the full circumstances and, yes, the table probably should have known, but I'm in my 4th year of doing the book under NCAA rules, and I still have trouble figuring out technical foul counts - particularly with direct/indirect/unsporting/intentional/flagrant and all the combinations thereof.
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all."
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:56am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1