The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 06, 2005, 09:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Wherever the Army sends me this year
Posts: 267
A1 and A2 report to the scorers table to enter the game. The coach of Team A calls a timeout. During the timeout A1 and B1 remain at the scorers table. One of the referees goes to the table and tells them they can go back to the team because they reported in and can now go in the game. They return to the bench but after the TO neither one comes on the floor. Is this an illegal substitution? A1 and A2 properly reported in well prior to the warning horn. Can the coach now decide not to put them in the game and stick with the same 5 he had prior to the TO?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 06, 2005, 09:42pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 29,020
Talking "Illegal substitution."

No, this is not football.

The players have not yet come onto the floor yet. So they are not players in this situation. The coach could decide not to have the players come into the game and keep the players that are already in the game. Nothing illegal about what you describe.

Peace
__________________
"When the phone does not ring, the assignor is calling."
--Black

Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 06, 2005, 11:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 4,801
Quote:
Originally posted by johnnyrao
One of the referees goes to the table and tells them they can go back to the team because they reported in and can now go in the game.
It sounds to me like the substitutes were beckoned in and became players at that point. (I think 3.3.1 E applies here, the word "case" is a bit ambiguous, though.)

Having been subbed in, they can then go back out of the game before the TO is over, but the players for whom they substituted cannot go back into the game. Your scorekeeper does know who these subs were supposed to replace, right?
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all."
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 07, 2005, 06:21am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,590
I agree with Mark.
Too bad the NFHS changed the rule on subs reporting, so that now they only have to give their own numbers and not the number of the player they are replacing.


Oh, Dexter!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 07, 2005, 09:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 4,801
Quote:
Originally posted by Nevadaref
I agree with Mark.
Too bad the NFHS changed the rule on subs reporting, so that now they only have to give their own numbers and not the number of the player they are replacing.


Oh, Dexter!
Actually, with most HS scorekeepers I know, this decision was a good one.

It's actually no longer an NCAA requirement, either. I still ask and keep track best I can, but we got a pretty stern letter from the conference office reminding us that it was no longer required.
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all."
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 07, 2005, 08:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Wherever the Army sends me this year
Posts: 267
Quote:
Originally posted by Mark Dexter
Quote:
Originally posted by johnnyrao
One of the referees goes to the table and tells them they can go back to the team because they reported in and can now go in the game.
It sounds to me like the substitutes were beckoned in and became players at that point. (I think 3.3.1 E applies here, the word "case" is a bit ambiguous, though.)

Having been subbed in, they can then go back out of the game before the TO is over, but the players for whom they substituted cannot go back into the game. Your scorekeeper does know who these subs were supposed to replace, right?
Mark,

Correct, the scorer has no idea who the two players were replacing so this would be tough to figure out. I think I would just let it go and let the same five return to the floor just like this crew did. If you try and sort it out it may get pretty crazy.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:20pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1