The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Substitutions (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/17431-substitutions.html)

johnnyrao Thu Jan 06, 2005 09:37pm

A1 and A2 report to the scorers table to enter the game. The coach of Team A calls a timeout. During the timeout A1 and B1 remain at the scorers table. One of the referees goes to the table and tells them they can go back to the team because they reported in and can now go in the game. They return to the bench but after the TO neither one comes on the floor. Is this an illegal substitution? A1 and A2 properly reported in well prior to the warning horn. Can the coach now decide not to put them in the game and stick with the same 5 he had prior to the TO?

JRutledge Thu Jan 06, 2005 09:42pm

"Illegal substitution."
 
No, this is not football. :D

The players have not yet come onto the floor yet. So they are not players in this situation. The coach could decide not to have the players come into the game and keep the players that are already in the game. Nothing illegal about what you describe.

Peace

Mark Dexter Thu Jan 06, 2005 11:50pm

Quote:

Originally posted by johnnyrao
One of the referees goes to the table and tells them they can go back to the team because they reported in and can now go in the game.
It sounds to me like the substitutes were beckoned in and became players at that point. (I think 3.3.1 E applies here, the word "case" is a bit ambiguous, though.)

Having been subbed in, they can then go back out of the game before the TO is over, but the players for whom they substituted cannot go back into the game. Your scorekeeper does know who these subs were supposed to replace, right? :p

Nevadaref Fri Jan 07, 2005 06:21am

I agree with Mark.
Too bad the NFHS changed the rule on subs reporting, so that now they only have to give their own numbers and not the number of the player they are replacing.


Oh, Dexter! :)

Mark Dexter Fri Jan 07, 2005 09:46am

Quote:

Originally posted by Nevadaref
I agree with Mark.
Too bad the NFHS changed the rule on subs reporting, so that now they only have to give their own numbers and not the number of the player they are replacing.


Oh, Dexter! :)

Actually, with most HS scorekeepers I know, this decision was a good one. :p

It's actually no longer an NCAA requirement, either. I still ask and keep track best I can, but we got a pretty stern letter from the conference office reminding us that it was no longer required.

johnnyrao Fri Jan 07, 2005 08:46pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Mark Dexter
Quote:

Originally posted by johnnyrao
One of the referees goes to the table and tells them they can go back to the team because they reported in and can now go in the game.
It sounds to me like the substitutes were beckoned in and became players at that point. (I think 3.3.1 E applies here, the word "case" is a bit ambiguous, though.)

Having been subbed in, they can then go back out of the game before the TO is over, but the players for whom they substituted cannot go back into the game. Your scorekeeper does know who these subs were supposed to replace, right? :p

Mark,

Correct, the scorer has no idea who the two players were replacing so this would be tough to figure out. I think I would just let it go and let the same five return to the floor just like this crew did. If you try and sort it out it may get pretty crazy.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:11am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1