![]() |
Ok before we start, I didn't see the play. I heard about it third hand and thought I would run it by all of you here.
1pt game Team A scores to go ahead with 3 seconds left on the clock. Team A has not been warned for delay at any point during the game. After they make the basket they grab the ball and hold it. They don't allow Team B to get the ball and time runs out. Team A is the victor. What would you do. A fellow official in our area called me this morning to ask what I would have done...I had a couple ideas.. I will post them later ok guys and gals Have at it.... and happy feasting LOL :D |
That's an obvious technical foul. What could be the question here? :confused:
|
There is no warning for that delay, especially with less than 5 seconds to go. I would assess a T.
|
Quote:
If Team A did it intentionally, technical foul. Z [Edited by zebraman on Dec 22nd, 2004 at 11:45 AM] |
I know what I would have done
Chuck,
I agree with you, I would have the T as an unsporting act. The reason I posted it is this. The guys doing the game did nothing.... |
There is a case book play that talks about reaching through the boundary in an obvious attempt to keep the ball from becoming alive in the closing seconds of a game. It is an automatic technical foul without any warning.
|
final seconds of the game I'd T for delay of game, no warning necessary in this case.
|
Quote:
|
Re: I know what I would have done
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
9.2.11 SITUATION: A1 is out of bounds for a throw-in. B1 reaches through the boundary plane and knocks the ball out of A1's hands. Team B has not been warned previously for a throw-in plane infraction. RULING: B1 is charged with a technical foul and it also results in the official having a team warning recorded and reported to the head coach. (4-46-1; 10-1-10) COMMENT: In situations with the clock running and five or less seconds left in the game, a throw-in plane violation or interfering with the ball following a goal should be ignored if its only purpose is to stop the clock. However, if the tactic in any way interferes with the thrower's efforts to make a throw-in, a technical foul for delay shall be called even though no previous warning had been issued. In this situation, if the official stopped the clock and issued a team warning, it would allow the team to benefit from the tactic. |
A warning would not be necessary in this situation as it was clearly an unsporting act for A1 to hold the ball intentionally thus preventing B1 from inbounding the ball. Some might try to issue a warning and put three seconds back on the clock which would give Team A an advantage in setting up their defense for the inbound pass.
I believe that a technical foul should be called (9.2.11) on A1 for a delay of game there is no warning for this per the case book referenced. |
T and put 3 seconds on the clock. The T is not for delay of game but for unsportsmanlike conduct.
|
Quote:
Well, technically speaking, you are to be corrected.... Per 9.2.11 - COMMENT: In situations with the clock running and five or less seconds left in the game, a throw-in plane violation or interfering with the ball following a goal should be ignored if its only purpose is to stop the clock. However, if the tactic in any way interferes with the thrower's efforts to make a throw-in, a technical foul for delay shall be called even though no previous warning had been issued. In this situation, if the official stopped the clock and issued a team warning, it would allow the team to benefit from the tactic. |
Thanks BBR
BBR,
Thanks for the reference. To answer other questions, no actually this was a varsity contest. Makes one wonder sometimes.... |
There's also 10-3-6a - "preventing the ball from being made live promptly or from being put in play"
|
10-3-6-a; delaying the game by acts such as..Preventing the ball from being made live promptly or from being put into play.
Two free throws & ball for division line throw in |
Quote:
So, there are two rules which can cover this situation. Both have exactly the same outcome so it doesn't really matter which one you choose. |
Quote:
If the game goes to OT, by using the delay T the team now has a warning in the book as well, that may come into play in the OT.;) |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Of course we could double dip the kid and call it an unsporting T AND give them a delay of game warning.:D |
Quote:
If B1 slaps the ball while thrower A1 has it, it's a technical foul. It's also a warning if no warning has been previously issued. The scorer should be instructed to write it in the book and the coach made aware of it. |
Quote:
Sorry. Too many gingerbread cookies with pretty little sprinkles. |
third hand knowledge is not necessarily good knowledge
Ok in the original post I mentioned that this play arrived at my doorstep third hand...well upon further review some facts have changed....Keep in mind that this is now 2nd hand knowledge LOL (which is much better than 3rd hand I might add).. Team A is down by 5 they hit a 3 to bring it to withing 2 with 3 seconds left...it is Team A that indeed grabs the ball hoping for a delay call so that B cannot run out the clock without inbounding the ball...
So the officials just let A stand there with the ball and did nothing, which I believe was correct :D |
Re: third hand knowledge is not necessarily good knowledge
Quote:
It made for a much better scenario the way you incorrectly posted it the first time. :D In all seriousness, your original post is the kind of post that I get the most benefit from on this board. The things that rarely happen, but that we may run into eventually. Having thought about them because of this board instead of being surprised by them on the floor is a benefit. Z |
BZ
I agree completely....However we have to be able to recall the discussion quickly enough so as not to stand under the basket and filter through all we read here LOL :D |
You mean you don't have copies of the forum in your back pocket ready to consult at a moments notice!!:)
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:55pm. |