The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Correctible error? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/1710-correctible-error.html)

Art N Sun Feb 11, 2001 12:13am

A1 is fouled by B1. Team A inbounds the ball and they score a bucket. The horn sounds from the table to tell us that A1 should have shot a 1 on 1. What is the call if:
a) B has does not yet have ball at their disposal (ref has not started 5 sec. count)
b) B has ball at disposal
c) B has inbounded
d) B as called a timeout.

PAULK1 Sun Feb 11, 2001 12:40am

All of these fall under 2-10-2 such errors must be recognized during the first deadball after the clock
has started.

A. Still correctable

B. No longer correctable

C. No longer correctable

D. if prior to ball at disposal, correctable until
official places the ball at the disposal after the TO

OPTIPLEX2001 Sun Feb 11, 2001 03:40pm

a) Correctable
b) Correctable
c) Not Correctable
d) Correctable

BktBallRef Sun Feb 11, 2001 04:08pm

Quote:

Originally posted by PAULK1
All of these fall under 2-10-2 such errors must be recognized during the first deadball after the clock
has started.

A. Still correctable

B. No longer correctable

C. No longer correctable

D. if prior to ball at disposal, correctable until
official places the ball at the disposal after the TO

Paul is correct. In C., the ball became live when it was at B's disposal, so it's too late to correct. The same would apply to D.

OPTIPLEX2001 Sun Feb 11, 2001 04:26pm

The clock still isn't running.

Matthew

bob jenkins Sun Feb 11, 2001 05:18pm

Quote:

Originally posted by OPTIPLEX2001
The clock still isn't running.

Matthew

What clock isn't running? THe clock started when A inbounded (incorrectly, as it turns out) the ball. It keeps running after the made basket. The error can be corrected until the ball becomes live again -- that happens when B has the ball at its disposal for the throw in.

Unless, of course, choosing different rules is part of your responsibility as "game management" ;)

BktBallRef Sun Feb 11, 2001 05:23pm

Quote:

Originally posted by OPTIPLEX2001
The clock still isn't running.

Matthew

It doesn't matter whether the clock is running or not. There are plenty of times when the ball is live but the clock isn't running. The ball becomes live and it's too late to correct the error when the ball is at the disposal of the thrower.

2-10-2
In order to correct any of the officials' errors listed in Article 1, such error must be recognized by an official during the first dead ball after the clock has properly started.

Once the ball is at B's disposal, the first dead ball is over, and it's too late to correct.

OPTIPLEX2001 Sun Feb 11, 2001 06:05pm

Quote:

Unless, of course, choosing different rules is part of your responsibility as "game management
Bite me.

Quote:

It doesn't matter whether the clock is running or not. There are plenty of times when the ball is live but the clock isn't running. The ball becomes live and it's too late to correct the error when the ball is at the disposal of the thrower.
Then every referee we've had at our home games broke the rule then. There are times when the bookkeeper doesn't realize that it's one-and-one yet. I will still continue to blow the horn and let the official know, unless the ball has been inbounded.

Matthew


OPTIPLEX2001 Sun Feb 11, 2001 06:06pm

Wait a second, I read the post wrong. I undestood that the referee had just handed the team player the ball, and it hadn't been inbounded. It was no longer correctable.

BTW, my post to bob still stands.

Matthew

BktBallRef Sun Feb 11, 2001 08:35pm

Quote:

Originally posted by OPTIPLEX2001
BTW, my post to bob still stands.

Matthew

Remarks like that could get you kicked off this board. Is that really what you want, to get booted off for making a vulgar, immature remark? If you're going to post and discuss basketball officiating with adults, then try to act like an adult.

mcdanrd Mon Feb 12, 2001 09:43am

OK, in scenario A and possibly scenario D it is correctable. What is the correction? Wipe out A's basket and give them a 1-1? or allow the basket and give them the 1-1?

bob jenkins Mon Feb 12, 2001 10:15am

Quote:

Originally posted by mcdanrd
OK, in scenario A and possibly scenario D it is correctable. What is the correction? Wipe out A's basket and give them a 1-1? or allow the basket and give them the 1-1?
Allow the basket, give them the 1-1 with no one on the lane, give the ball to B for a throw-in with the run of the endline.

BktBallRef Mon Feb 12, 2001 11:26am

Quote:

Originally posted by mcdanrd
OK, in scenario A and possibly scenario D it is correctable. What is the correction? Wipe out A's basket and give them a 1-1? or allow the basket and give them the 1-1?
Never take points off the board that occurred after an error was made.

2-10-5
Points scored, consumed time and additional activity, which may occur prior to the recognition of an error, shall not be nullified.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:34am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1