The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 07, 2004, 10:16am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Winchester, NH
Posts: 184
Question

The "Plane Violation?" thread made me wonder about a player committing a foul while making a throw-in. A1, making a throw-in, reaches over the plane and pushes B1, or A1 uses his arm to clear out the arms of B1, or as in "Plane Violation?" A1, with one foot out of bounds, begins to step inbounds and commits a charging foul against B1. The ball is live, but there is no player control. I can't find any rule to suggest that A1, by touching B1, has attained an inbounds location. Is it just a common foul? I don't think it makes any differnce whether he has released the ball.

Rick

PS Will somebody please find a grammatical error so I will feel like I belong?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 07, 2004, 10:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 188
Wink

Quote:
Originally posted by Rick Durkee
I don't think it makes any differnce whether he has released the ball.

Rick

PS Will somebody please find a grammatical error so I will feel like I belong?

difference.......feel better??
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 07, 2004, 10:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Winchester, NH
Posts: 184
Much Better!

YESSSSS!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 07, 2004, 11:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally posted by mdray
Quote:
Originally posted by Rick Durkee
I don't think it makes any differnce whether he has released the ball.

Rick

PS Will somebody please find a grammatical error so I will feel like I belong?

difference.......feel better??
Thanks, md. I'll sleep easier knowing someone is on grammar patrol when I'm off duty.

About the play, I have absolutely no clue. I suppose it's at least a throw-in violation. I don't know about the foul.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 07, 2004, 11:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,910
No books with me (I'm actually listening to my students practice for a winter concert), but I think I would go with a warning for breaking the plane first. If it happens again I'd think its a T. Interesting situation though, I'm looking forward to hearing everyone else on this one.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 07, 2004, 12:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Beaver, PA
Posts: 481
Quote:
Originally posted by Rick Durkee
The "Plane Violation?" thread made me wonder about a player committing a foul while making a throw-in. A1, making a throw-in, reaches over the plane and pushes B1, or A1 uses his arm to clear out the arms of B1, or as in "Plane Violation?" A1, with one foot out of bounds, begins to step inbounds and commits a charging foul against B1. The ball is live, but there is no player control. I can't find any rule to suggest that A1, by touching B1, has attained an inbounds location. Is it just a common foul? I don't think it makes any differnce whether he has released the ball.

Rick

You have described a couple of different situations.

Quote:
Originally posted by Rick Durkee
The "Plane Violation?" thread made me wonder about a player committing a foul while making a throw-in. A1, making a throw-in, reaches over the plane and pushes B1, or A1 uses his arm to clear out the arms of B1."
I am crossing my arms and calling an intentional foul in this case.


Quote:
A1, with one foot out of bounds, begins to step inbounds and commits a charging foul against B1. The ball is live, but there is no player control. I can't find any rule to suggest that A1, by touching B1, has attained an inbounds location. Is it just a common foul? I don't think it makes any differnce whether he has released the ball.
In this case I would call a common foul. There is no player control nor team control until the ball has been controled on court.
__________________
I only wanna know ...
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 07, 2004, 09:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Winchester, NH
Posts: 184
Ref in PA (RIP? RiPA?),

Thanks, and good point about the intentional.

Rick
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 16, 2004, 07:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,487
There was a play in our CA study guide this year that had the defender fouling the thrower during a throw-in, but the thrower had extended his arms and the ball through the boundary plane into the inbounds side. The contact was on the arm of the thrower while attempting to legally steal the ball on the inbounds side of the boundary plane.
The ruling given was a common foul.

I would therefore also call a NONintentional foul on the thrower if he reached inbounds and fouled a defender during the throw-in. If he had not yet released the ball, I have PC, and don't award the bonus. This would be a great question to pose to the NFHS committee for an interpretation though.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 16, 2004, 07:47am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,221
Quote:
Originally posted by Nevadaref

I would therefore also call a NONintentional foul on the thrower if he reached inbounds and fouled a defender during the throw-in. If he had not yet released the ball, I have PC, and don't award the bonus. This would be a great question to pose to the NFHS committee for an interpretation though.
A PC foul on a player who doesn't have player control? You may wanna re-think that one.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 16, 2004, 08:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 4,802
I think the "reach through and push" scenario should (and can) be called an intentional foul, the contact is not automatically an intentional foul (as in when the defender reaches across the plane and fouls the inbounder). (9-2 Penalty)

In the second situation, A1 is a player, the ball's live - common foul.
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all."
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:54pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1