The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 16, 2004, 07:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,022
There was a play in our CA study guide this year that had the defender fouling the thrower during a throw-in, but the thrower had extended his arms and the ball through the boundary plane into the inbounds side. The contact was on the arm of the thrower while attempting to legally steal the ball on the inbounds side of the boundary plane.
The ruling given was a common foul.

I would therefore also call a NONintentional foul on the thrower if he reached inbounds and fouled a defender during the throw-in. If he had not yet released the ball, I have PC, and don't award the bonus. This would be a great question to pose to the NFHS committee for an interpretation though.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:37am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1