The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 07, 2004, 11:18am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by Jimgolf
Quote:
Originally posted by mdray
On a designated spot throw-in, the thrower passed the ball "diagonally" to his teammate inbounds. The defender reaches across the throw-in plane and intercepts the pass. Do you have a whistle there?
JR's replies don't seem to be referencing the situation quoted. The ball has been released. No violation. Am I missing something.
Yup, I sureasheck am referencing the situation quoted. The ball was released, but it wasn't ever released on a throw-in pass; it doesn't meet the definition of a throw-in pass under R7-6-1. It does, however, meet the definition of an endline pass to a teammate under R7-5-7. If it's not a throw-in pass, then by rule(specifically R9-2-11) the defender can't reach OOB and touch the ball. If he does---->warning and repeat throw-in. Unless, of course, you also penalize the thrower-in's teammate for being illegally OOB during a spot throw-in at the same time, as per R9-2-12, which he certainly was.

[Edited by Jurassic Referee on Dec 7th, 2004 at 11:20 AM]
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:03am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1