The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 08, 2004, 01:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Re: Questions for Clarification

Quote:
Originally posted by rwest
These statements/questions assume the player is shooting at the wrong basket. Correct me where I'm wrong. If you can, provide the rule and/or case play.

1. If the player has not ended her dribble, then throwing the ball against the backboard does not constitute an illegal dribble. I back this up with Case 4.15.4 which clearly states that the dribble came to an end. I'm assuming this would not be a violation if the opposite where true, that the player did not start and then end a dribble. In this situation the player could only throw the ball against the backboard once. Also she could not dribble after catching the ball, but the initial throw is not a violation.
If the player has not dribbled, throwing the ball off the opponent's backboard and touching the ball constitutes a legal dribble. If the "touching" is also "catching" then the player cannot dribble again.


Quote:
2. Does the ball have to hit only the backboard to be considered the start of a dribble? What if it hits only the rim or the backboard and then the rim or the rim and then the backboard? Sorry I'm being too anal here, but I'm wondering if it makes a difference.
The rim is not covered in the rules. Treat the resulting play as if the ball had not hit the rim.

Quote:
3. If the player had ended her dribble and throws toward the wrong goal, when do you call the violation? If it hits the backboard do you kill it then and call an illegal dribble? What if it hits the rim? Or do you wait until she catches it?
It's not an immediate violation to end the dribble, then throw the ball off the floor, is it? It's only a violation to then touch the ball. Same with the backboard. (IOW, it doesn't become a dribble until the ball is retouched)

Quote:
4. Could A travel only be called if she attempted a shot and missed everything and them moved her feet in getting the ball? There could be no travel if she did not move both feet, correct? A pass to oneself, if it doesn't hit the ground, is considered a travel or illegal dribble?
It's not necessary to move "both feet". We only care about the pivot foot.

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:06am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1