The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 03, 2004, 08:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 45
T/F The goal counts if a live ball enters from above and passes through the basket while the clock is not running.

My understanding is the ball is live when it is at the disposal of a player who is inbounding the ball. If after a violation, time-out, or any situation where the clock has been stopped and the ball is to be put into play by a throw in, if the player inbounding the ball throws it through the basket, the goal does not count. Correct?

I have looked up the definition of "goal" to see if I may have missed something. I haven't found anything new, so I'm asking you for help.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 03, 2004, 08:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,673
Send a message via MSN to IREFU2 Send a message via Yahoo to IREFU2
I put true, remember a last minute shot if the ball is released before the buzzer and the basket goes, its good!
__________________
Score the Basket!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 03, 2004, 09:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Irving, Texas
Posts: 675
You can't score a basket from an inbounds pass, unless the ball is touched by another player first. It is a violation.

Now a slight retreat, how about inadvertently inbounding the ball threw your opponents basket.

__________________
- SamIAm (Senior Registered User) - (Concerning all judgement calls - they depend on age, ability, and severity)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 03, 2004, 09:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 2,910
IREFU2 is correct, the answer to Question 59 is true.

SamIAm, it is a violation for the inbounder to throw the ball through either basket. See rule 9-2-7.

Z
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 03, 2004, 09:26am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,221
Quote:
Originally posted by SamIAm
You can't score a basket from an inbounds pass, unless the ball is touched by another player first. It is a violation.

Now a slight retreat, how about inadvertently inbounding the ball threw your opponents basket.

Or....if a player(either team) interferes with the throw-in while it's in the cone over a basket.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 03, 2004, 10:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,487
Quote:
Originally posted by BamaRef
T/F The goal counts if a live ball enters from above and passes through the basket while the clock is not running.

My understanding is the ball is live when it is at the disposal of a player who is inbounding the ball. If after a violation, time-out, or any situation where the clock has been stopped and the ball is to be put into play by a throw in, if the player inbounding the ball throws it through the basket, the goal does not count. Correct?

I have looked up the definition of "goal" to see if I may have missed something. I haven't found anything new, so I'm asking you for help.
The test answer is true. FTs and the AND-1s are good examples of goals that count while the clock is stopped, but the ball is live.

It is true that PC fouls and throw-in violations cancel goals that may have gone through the basket during a live ball. But these two exceptions are not intended to make that question false.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 03, 2004, 11:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,104
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by Nevadaref
It is true that PC fouls and throw-in violations cancel goals that may have gone through the basket during a live ball. But these two exceptions are not intended to make that question false.
Seems to me that those are obvious examples that show the statement to be false. How can you determine which situations are "intended" to make the question false?

How about if the R makes a really bad toss to start the game that goes through a basket? Live ball, clock not running. . .

The answer is false.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 03, 2004, 11:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 2,910
Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by Nevadaref
It is true that PC fouls and throw-in violations cancel goals that may have gone through the basket during a live ball. But these two exceptions are not intended to make that question false.
Seems to me that those are obvious examples that show the statement to be false. How can you determine which situations are "intended" to make the question false?

How about if the R makes a really bad toss to start the game that goes through a basket? Live ball, clock not running. . .

The answer is false.
I think the point that the FED is trying to make here is rule 5-1-2. Let's not overcomplicate things.

"Whether the clock is running or stopped has no influence on the counting of a goal"

The answer is true.

Z
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 03, 2004, 12:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by Nevadaref
It is true that PC fouls and throw-in violations cancel goals that may have gone through the basket during a live ball. But these two exceptions are not intended to make that question false.
Seems to me that those are obvious examples that show the statement to be false. How can you determine which situations are "intended" to make the question false?

How about if the R makes a really bad toss to start the game that goes through a basket? Live ball, clock not running. . .

The answer is false.
Hmmm....isn't the ball immediately dead on a PC under fed?

5-7-4

Isn't the ball dead as soon as the throw in enters (ie before it passes through) the basket?

9-2-7

Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 03, 2004, 01:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,104
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by Dan_ref
Hmmm....isn't the ball immediately dead on a PC under fed?

Isn't the ball dead as soon as the throw in enters (ie before it passes through) the basket?
Umm, yes, obviously. Ok, so your point is that the ball isn't live when "passes through" the basket in those cases, even tho it's live when it enters? I can live with that.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 03, 2004, 04:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 45
Thanks for your help.

While going through college, I was forced to take a couple of class were we did nothing but prove mathmatical equations. I learned the quickest way to disprove something is to find a situation were it is false. Therefore, the reason I posted the question. One of the last posts taught me that when the ball enters the basket from an out of bounds throw in, it becomes dead. Thus in this situation, a live ball doesn't go through the hoop and the answer to this question is True.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 08, 2004, 04:26am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,487
Quote:
Originally posted by Dan_ref
Hmmm....isn't the ball immediately dead on a PC under fed?

5-7-4

Isn't the ball dead as soon as the throw in enters (ie before it passes through) the basket?

9-2-7

Actually, what I had in mind for the first one was a PC foul by an airborne shooter that occurs during the dead ball period AFTER the ball has passed through the basket.

As for the second one... maybe! Is the ball live when it enters the basket on the throw-in, but dead as soon as it enters? Who knows?

I took my information from 5-1-1 and 5-1-2.
And that this question appeared on a past NFHS test and the answer was true.

Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 08, 2004, 08:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Idaho
Posts: 1,476
Thumbs down The questions are poor

Those of us that have taken these idiot proof... no, no, no, prove-you're-not-an-idiot, tests for many years recognize that some of these questions could be justified as true or as false.

I think that this one was intended to be True. Airborne shooter is fouled. Whistle blows. Clock stops. Live ball goes through hoop. Goal counts. That was my reasoning.

Or how about a free throw. Ball is live when you give it to the shooter and it is live until it goes through the hoop and the clock never runs.

I think the principle being tested is that the ball can be live when the clock is not running.

Odds are 50-50 that any one of us got it correct.
__________________
"There are no superstar calls. We don't root for certain teams. We don't cheat. But sometimes we just miss calls." - Joe Crawford
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 08, 2004, 10:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Suwanee Georgia
Posts: 1,050
Further explanation

Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by SamIAm
You can't score a basket from an inbounds pass, unless the ball is touched by another player first. It is a violation.

Now a slight retreat, how about inadvertently inbounding the ball threw your opponents basket.

Or....if a player(either team) interferes with the throw-in while it's in the cone over a basket.
JR, What are saying here?

Also, if I inbound the ball so that it is in the cylinder over my basket and the defensive team snags the ball, is this basket intereference? Can it be, since this is not a legal try for goal? Or does that have any bearing on basket interference? If the ball was on a downward flight and the defender grabbed the ball, would this be goal tending?

Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 08, 2004, 11:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 156
Re: Further explanation

Quote:
Originally posted by rwest
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by SamIAm
You can't score a basket from an inbounds pass, unless the ball is touched by another player first. It is a violation.

Now a slight retreat, how about inadvertently inbounding the ball threw your opponents basket.

Or....if a player(either team) interferes with the throw-in while it's in the cone over a basket.
JR, What are saying here?

Also, if I inbound the ball so that it is in the cylinder over my basket and the defensive team snags the ball, is this basket intereference? Can it be, since this is not a legal try for goal? Or does that have any bearing on basket interference? If the ball was on a downward flight and the defender grabbed the ball, would this be goal tending?

It is basket interference if a player touches the ball when it is above the cylinder, even during a throw-in. Goal-tending would not be a factor during a throw-in because it has to be a try.

I'm trying to remember now if the BI counts as 2 or 3. I would say that it counts as 2 because it was not an attempt behind the 3 point line. The thrower might have been behind the line but it was not an attempt.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:15pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1