The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 03, 2004, 01:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,674
Quote:
Originally posted by bgtg19
I think MTD's situation is straight-forward. You have to T that coach who comes out on the floor.

Ref Daddy's situation isn't as clear. My initial reaction is similar to rainmaker's: if that coach stays out of bounds and helps up his player who falls right along the sideline in front of him, no reason to get involved in that.

But I've started thinking: what if a coach stays completely out of bounds, but helps up a tripped up player just in time for that player to catch a pass? Does that make the "help" different?
I think in your situation 7-1-1 may apply.

A player causes the ball to be OOB if that player touches the floor or ANY object other than another PLAYER that is OOB. I'm reading that as floor, benches, chairs, officials (we are considered part of the floor), and BENCH PERSONNEL.

So if coach is touching his player and the coach is OOB when the ball is there then the player is OOB. I like having that option versus trying to judge the coaches intent.

Now if the help clearly occurred BEFORE the player caught the pass, you are stuck. If I see the entire play and it looks like the coach is aware that the pass is coming and aides the player, I'm leaning toward a T, but that's going to require something like the coach yelling, "Hurry, get up," while he's helping up the player.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:09pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1