The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 07, 2001, 03:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally posted by BigDave
Quote:
Originally posted by Bradley Batt
A player can return from OOB and be the first to touch the ball provided he is not touching anywhere OOB. That is, as long as he is touching inbounds and is not touching OOB, he is legal.
I'm gonna go out on a limb and disagree with you, Brad. Since the player had control before going OOB, I believe this is a violation. If I'm wrong, I owe you a soda.

Someone please post the rule reference to either validate my opinion or prove I'm a dumbass.
It's only a violation if the player has control while being out of bounds. This can only happen on a non-interrupted dribble. That's the meaning of the note in 9-3.

A few years ago it was also a violation if it was an interrupted dribble (as in this case). The NFHS recognized the error and removed the case play (4.15.5) from the book. You can find this in the '97-98 rule book, revised interpretations, play 31 (page 9).
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:57pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1