The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 19, 2004, 09:02am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Re: Re: Re: Add this to the scenario

Quote:
Originally posted by jritchie

And to further up the ante, if you do call an intentional personal foul on B1 along with a block on A2, what's the administration if both teams are in the bonus?

B1 will shoot bonus for the illegal screen,lanes cleared, A2 will shoot intentional foul, lanes cleared, Team A out of bounds at nearest spot of foul


If neither team is in the bonus?
B1 no shots, A2 shoots 2 for intentional foul out of bounds as spot nearest foul

Same questions but with a flagrant personal foul on B1 instead?

B1 sub, gets bonus free throws if in bonus if not, they get nothing, A2 still shoots but flagrant technical is brought in at mid court opposite the table


If you called a double foul, alternate possesion at spot![/B][/QUOTE]Probably should have been clearer. Let me re-phrase it.

Question is administration when you have a double personal foul when (1) one foul is intentional and both teams are in bonus, or both teams not in bonus (2) same scenario but with a flagrant personal foul being one of the double fouls instead.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 19, 2004, 09:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 768
i guess you would still call it a double foul, but because intentional has a different penalty...2 shots and ball..wouldn't be like an ordinary double foul, so would B1 still shoot?? since it's a double foul i'm thinking yes, but i have been wrong before,

good question?

whatever the ruling is it would still be same for flagrant, except you would have an ejection?

Help!!!
__________________
DETERMINATION ALL BUT ERASES THE THIN LINE BETWEEN THE IMPOSSIBLE AND THE POSSIBLE!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 19, 2004, 09:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 156
Re: Re: Re: Add this to the scenario

Quote:
Originally posted by jritchie


B1 sub, gets bonus free throws if in bonus if not, they get nothing, A2 still shoots but flagrant technical is brought in at mid court opposite the table

I believe that a flagrant personal foul is still inbounded at the point of incident. Correct?
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 19, 2004, 10:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,190
Quote:
Originally posted by zebraman
A1 being guarded by B1. A2 comes to set a screen on B1. Screen is illegal as A2 doesn't stop before contact. At the point of contact, B1 either pushes A2 to the side or blasts through the illegal screen by A2.

Call illegal screen on A2 and ignore B1's actions?

Call pushing foul on B1 and ignore A2's illegal screen?

Call a double foul?

Other options?

Z
As I read this, A's actions caused the contact. Single foul on A2, unless B1's actions are intentional or flagrnat (not likely).

Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 19, 2004, 10:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 768
that is really the question.... if you feel it's intentional, do you call a double foul??? or a illegal screen on A2 and then intentional on B1?? what would be the administration penalties for free throws?? bonus or not?
__________________
DETERMINATION ALL BUT ERASES THE THIN LINE BETWEEN THE IMPOSSIBLE AND THE POSSIBLE!
Reply With Quote
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 19, 2004, 12:47pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by jritchie
i guess you would still call it a double foul, but because intentional has a different penalty...2 shots and ball..wouldn't be like an ordinary double foul, so would B1 still shoot?? since it's a double foul i'm thinking yes, but i have been wrong before,

good question?

whatever the ruling is it would still be same for flagrant, except you would have an ejection?

Help!!!
A handy little reference is always at the end of Rule 10- "Summary of Penalties for All Fouls". It can save you a whole bunch of digging through the rules sometimes.

Re:#1(c)-NOTE in this summary- "If one or both fouls of a double personal foul are flagrant, no free throws are awarded. Any player who commits a flagrant foul is disqualified".
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 19, 2004, 12:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 2,910
Quote:
Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:
Originally posted by zebraman
A1 being guarded by B1. A2 comes to set a screen on B1. Screen is illegal as A2 doesn't stop before contact. At the point of contact, B1 either pushes A2 to the side or blasts through the illegal screen by A2.

Call illegal screen on A2 and ignore B1's actions?

Call pushing foul on B1 and ignore A2's illegal screen?

Call a double foul?

Other options?

Z
As I read this, A's actions caused the contact. Single foul on A2, unless B1's actions are intentional or flagrnat (not likely).

That's how I called it at the time Bob, but in retrospect I really did a lot of second-guessing. Yeah, A2 was coming to set an illegal screen and didn't stop short of contact. But at the same time that A2 arrived, B1 was pushing A2 to the side. By only calling the illegal screen, I ignored the illegal action by B1 (which did not fit my definition of intentional or flagrant). Not that it matters, but as you can imagine, the A coach saw the push by B and wanted that. I couldn't even say, "the bad screen happened first coach" because that wasn't true. It's an interesting one to me.

Z
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 19, 2004, 02:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,190
Quote:
Originally posted by zebraman
Not that it matters, but as you can imagine, the A coach saw the push by B and wanted that. I couldn't even say, "the bad screen happened first coach" because that wasn't true. It's an interesting one to me.

Z
"If your player had been legal, that's what I would have called."

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:43pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1