The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 18, 2004, 02:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Geneva, IL
Posts: 53
Question

Rule 9-1-2(d) says:

"After the ball is placed at the disposal of a free-thrower:
(d) The free-thrower shall not enter the semicircle. The free-thrower shall not leave the semicircle before releasing the free throw."

Situation:
R is ready to administer the free throw. The designated shooter is behind the 3-point arc still talking strategy with his teammates. R decides to put the ball on the floor at the free throw spot since the shooter is unduly delaying the game.

Is putting the ball on the floor placing it at the disposal of the free throw shooter? If it is, then according to the rule above, once the shooter enters the semicircle to pick up the ball, then it's a violation, correct?

If so, then is it implied by this rule that placing the ball on the floor when the shooter takes a long time to take his position essentially forfeiting the free throw?

Or am I reading this rule incorrectly?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 18, 2004, 02:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Winchester, NH
Posts: 184
Entering the circle is a violation, or he can wait outside the semicirle and hope that somebody on the opposing team is foolish enough to commit a violation before the 10 second count ends. That's all I can think of.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 18, 2004, 03:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,104
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
The shooting team can also request a TO before the 10 second count expires.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 18, 2004, 03:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Geneva, IL
Posts: 53
Thanks! It seems like I interpreted the rule correctly.

Has this ever happened to any of you? If so, did you call it? I would assume there would be a lot of complaining going on if I did. How would you explain it to the player or coach?

Personally, the rule doesn't make sense to me. Anyone know what the intent of this rule is?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 18, 2004, 03:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 246
explanation

this one is pretty easy to explain. you just read the rule. tell the coach that the player wasn't ready and that he violated when he entered the circle, end of story.

The intent is to prevent delaying the game. Same thing goes if after the second horn of a timeout teams aren't ready to play you put the ball down and start counting. A little different because the throw in team can still run and pick up the ball and inbound. I am not sure why they can't go into the circle and pick it up and shoot though.

I am sure some of these other guys know why
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 18, 2004, 04:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Houston
Posts: 572
I thought the only time you didn't call a technical for delaying a free throw was resuming of play procedure.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 18, 2004, 04:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 188
Quote:
Originally posted by actuary77
Rule 9-1-2(d) says:

"After the ball is placed at the disposal of a free-thrower:
(d) The free-thrower shall not enter the semicircle. The free-thrower shall not leave the semicircle before releasing the free throw."

Situation:
R is ready to administer the free throw. The designated shooter is behind the 3-point arc still talking strategy with his teammates.
if this is not after a timeout, you do not put the ball on the floor; it is a technical foul for the shooter for not being in the semi-circle when the referee was ready to administer the free throw -- see rule 10-3-7 & caseplay 10.3.7
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 19, 2004, 10:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Geneva, IL
Posts: 53
Quote:
Originally posted by mdray
if this is not after a timeout, you do not put the ball on the floor; it is a technical foul for the shooter for not being in the semi-circle when the referee was ready to administer the free throw -- see rule 10-3-7 & caseplay 10.3.7 [/B]
Assume that this was the first of two free throws and it is NOT after a timeout. If I do call a T on Team A (the team not ready to shoot the free throws):

For NCAA, two technical free throws for Team B and play will resume with the remaining free throw for Team A, correct?

For NFHS, two technical free throws for Team B. Will the last free throw for Team A be forfeited or will it be administered and possession automatically given to Team B?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 19, 2004, 10:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,094
Quote:
Originally posted by FrankHtown
I thought the only time you didn't call a technical for delaying a free throw was resuming of play procedure.
There's also a warning for "huddling ni the lane" (or something like that). There's no warning for the shooter not being ready (although as good game management we'd do all we could to get him / her in the circle), and you don't place the ball down since it wasn't a resumption of play procedure.

Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 19, 2004, 03:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 188
Quote:
Originally posted by actuary77
Quote:
Originally posted by mdray
if this is not after a timeout, you do not put the ball on the floor; it is a technical foul for the shooter for not being in the semi-circle when the referee was ready to administer the free throw -- see rule 10-3-7 & caseplay 10.3.7
Assume that this was the first of two free throws and it is NOT after a timeout. If I do call a T on Team A (the team not ready to shoot the free throws):

For NCAA, two technical free throws for Team B and play will resume with the remaining free throw for Team A, correct?

For NFHS, two technical free throws for Team B. Will the last free throw for Team A be forfeited or will it be administered and possession automatically given to Team B? [/B]
I can only speak to FED rules (good question by the way);
I would clear the lane and let A1 shoot his/her 2nd free throw and then B shoots the T and gets the ball after the shots; you made me wonder though, what if A1 continues to delay for the second shot?? Is that shot just forfeited or do we have another T on A1?? (Doesn't seem sensible to come out of this situation with an ejection from the game for A1)
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 19, 2004, 03:50pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
If A1 didn't learn his lesson after the first T, then it is A1 whose sensibilities are in question.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 19, 2004, 04:11pm
Never Stop Learning
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 518
Good game management tells me to get the shooter into the circle and avoid the T. If they refuse to listen,you have more of a problem then them just delaying. I have never had to do this and I hope never will. I also have never seen this having to be done.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 22, 2004, 04:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,487
Quote:
Originally posted by actuary77
Quote:
Originally posted by mdray
if this is not after a timeout, you do not put the ball on the floor; it is a technical foul for the shooter for not being in the semi-circle when the referee was ready to administer the free throw -- see rule 10-3-7 & caseplay 10.3.7
Assume that this was the first of two free throws and it is NOT after a timeout. If I do call a T on Team A (the team not ready to shoot the free throws):

For NCAA, two technical free throws for Team B and play will resume with the remaining free throw for Team A, correct?

For NFHS, two technical free throws for Team B. Will the last free throw for Team A be forfeited or will it be administered and possession automatically given to Team B? [/B]
I gave a talk on this stuff today at our association meeting. I addressed when to give a Warning for Delay and when to assess a technical foul because a warning is not appropriate (justified by the rules).

The others who already told you NOT to put the ball on the floor unless it is after a time-out or intermission are correct. You simply T the FT shooter if he is not in the semicircle and ready to receive the ball.
Now if you do have to T the shooter, he does NOT lose his merited FT attempts because he did not commit a violation.
(If he delays again before shooting another FT, you assess another T. In NFHS play this would disqualify that player.)

In NCAA play you would go shoot the T and then come back and shoot the orginal FTs and continue the game as before.

In NFHS play you shoot the original FTs first with the lane
cleared, then go to the other end and shoot the 2FTs for the T with the lane cleared, and then award possession to the opponents of the player who was T'd.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:26pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1