The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Technical and/or BI? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/16361-technical-bi.html)

Jurassic Referee Tue Nov 09, 2004 11:15am

Defensive player B1 leaves his feet to defend a faked lob pass. While B1 is airborne, A1 moves underneath him. To avoid injury, B1 grasps the basket ring. While B1 is grasping the ring, A2 shoots the ball. Just after A2 shoots, B1 lets go of the ring and lands safely. The ring is still moving when A2's shot hits the ring and then(a)goes in or(b)doesn't go in.

What's the call in both cases.

Dan_ref Tue Nov 09, 2004 11:22am

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Defensive player B1 leaves his feet to defend a faked lob pass. While B1 is airborne, A1 moves underneath him. To avoid injury, B1 grasps the basket ring. While B1 is grasping the ring, A2 shoots the ball. Just after A2 shoots, B1 lets go of the ring and lands safely. The ring is still moving when A2's shot hits the ring and then(a)goes in or(b)doesn't go in.

What's the call in both cases.

Did B1 pull down the moveable ring? If so did the ring contact the ball before it returned to its original position? Was B1 graspng the ring when the ball was in the cylinder?

If not then I got nuthin'.

bob jenkins Tue Nov 09, 2004 11:23am

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Defensive player B1 leaves his feet to defend a faked lob pass. While B1 is airborne, A1 moves underneath him. To avoid injury, B1 grasps the basket ring. While B1 is grasping the ring, A2 shoots the ball. Just after A2 shoots, B1 lets go of the ring and lands safely. The ring is still moving when A2's shot hits the ring and then(a)goes in or(b)doesn't go in.

What's the call in both cases.

When a player grasps a ring to prevent injury, s/he is "protected" from a T, but is not "prtoected" from committing a BI violation.


Jurassic Referee Tue Nov 09, 2004 11:45am

Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Defensive player B1 leaves his feet to defend a faked lob pass. While B1 is airborne, A1 moves underneath him. To avoid injury, B1 grasps the basket ring. While B1 is grasping the ring, A2 shoots the ball. Just after A2 shoots, B1 lets go of the ring and lands safely. The ring is still moving when A2's shot hits the ring and then(a)goes in or(b)doesn't go in.

What's the call in both cases.

Did B1 pull down the moveable ring? If so did the ring contact the ball before it returned to its original position? Was B1 graspng the ring when the ball was in the cylinder?

If not then I got nuthin'.

B1 had already let go off the ring before the shot contacted it, but the ring was still moving from B1 pulling on it when the ball hit the ring.

jritchie Tue Nov 09, 2004 12:13pm

so if it hadn't returned to it's position before the ball hit it(or as you say, rim was still moving) then it has to be basket interference...no T as long as he was avoiding injury

Dan_ref Tue Nov 09, 2004 12:18pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Defensive player B1 leaves his feet to defend a faked lob pass. While B1 is airborne, A1 moves underneath him. To avoid injury, B1 grasps the basket ring. While B1 is grasping the ring, A2 shoots the ball. Just after A2 shoots, B1 lets go of the ring and lands safely. The ring is still moving when A2's shot hits the ring and then(a)goes in or(b)doesn't go in.

What's the call in both cases.

Did B1 pull down the moveable ring? If so did the ring contact the ball before it returned to its original position? Was B1 graspng the ring when the ball was in the cylinder?

If not then I got nuthin'.

B1 had already let go off the ring before the shot contacted it, but the ring was still moving from B1 pulling on it when the ball hit the ring.

Oh.

Hmmm...B1 can grab the ring to prevent injury but there's no so such exception for making the ring vibrate when the shot's in the air.

Can I just tell the coach I didn't see him grab the ring?

Dan_ref Tue Nov 09, 2004 12:21pm

Quote:

Originally posted by jritchie
so if it hadn't returned to it's position before the ball hit it(or as you say, rim was still moving) then it has to be basket interference...no T as long as he was avoiding injury
I believe once it returns to it's original locked position there can't be BI, even if the ring's still rockin'.



coachz_216 Tue Nov 09, 2004 12:21pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Defensive player B1 leaves his feet to defend a faked lob pass. While B1 is airborne, A1 moves underneath him. To avoid injury, B1 grasps the basket ring. While B1 is grasping the ring, A2 shoots the ball. Just after A2 shoots, B1 lets go of the ring and lands safely. The ring is still moving when A2's shot hits the ring and then(a)goes in or(b)doesn't go in.

What's the call in both cases.

Did B1 pull down the moveable ring? If so did the ring contact the ball before it returned to its original position? Was B1 graspng the ring when the ball was in the cylinder?

If not then I got nuthin'.

B1 had already let go off the ring before the shot contacted it, but the ring was still moving from B1 pulling on it when the ball hit the ring.

Oh.

Hmmm...B1 can grab the ring to prevent injury but there's no so such exception for making the ring vibrate when the shot's in the air.

Can I just tell the coach I didn't see him grab the ring?

As long as there is involvement between a defender/basket that causes a ball to not go in--I've got GT. It it was grabbed for protection--pass on the T.

coachz_216 Tue Nov 09, 2004 12:24pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:

Originally posted by jritchie
so if it hadn't returned to it's position before the ball hit it(or as you say, rim was still moving) then it has to be basket interference...no T as long as he was avoiding injury
I believe once it returns to it's original locked position there can't be BI, even if the ring's still rockin'.



Any action by a defender that causes the basket/support to be moving while the ball is in the cylinder is BI in my book--(I can't quote a rule book reference). EX. Slapping the backboard in an attempt to block a shot while the ball is in the cylinder.

Jurassic Referee Tue Nov 09, 2004 12:26pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:

Originally posted by jritchie
so if it hadn't returned to it's position before the ball hit it(or as you say, rim was still moving) then it has to be basket interference...no T as long as he was avoiding injury
I believe once it returns to it's original locked position there can't be BI, even if the ring's still rockin'.



Yabut.........

What does the NFHS believe? Do they agree with you? :D

jritchie Tue Nov 09, 2004 12:27pm


[/B][/QUOTE]

As long as there is involvement between a defender/basket that causes a ball to not go in--I've got GT. It it was grabbed for protection--pass on the T.
[/B][/QUOTE]

so i can go for a blocked shot and miss the ball and slap the backboard (unintentionally) and make the goal move and your going to call goaltending?????? same thing isn't it..

if the rim is in it's original upright position you can't have anything i wouldn't think??

Jurassic Referee Tue Nov 09, 2004 12:28pm

Quote:

Originally posted by coachz_216
[/B]
Any action by a defender that causes the basket/support to be moving while the ball is in the cylinder is BI in my book--(I can't quote a rule book reference). EX. Slapping the backboard in an attempt to block a shot while the ball is in the cylinder.
[/B][/QUOTE]You may want to re-think that "slap" comment, Coach. It's completely wrong, by explicit rule.

Jurassic Referee Tue Nov 09, 2004 12:32pm

Quote:

Originally posted by jritchie


As long as there is involvement between a defender/basket that causes a ball to not go in--I've got GT. It it was grabbed for protection--pass on the T.
[/B][/QUOTE]

so i can go for a blocked shot and miss the ball and slap the backboard (unintentionally) and make the goal move and your going to call goaltending?????? same thing isn't it..

if the rim is in it's original upright position you can't have anything i wouldn't think?? [/B][/QUOTE]I'm not sure that the coach is aware of the difference between GT and BI.

coachz_216 Tue Nov 09, 2004 12:32pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by coachz_216
Any action by a defender that causes the basket/support to be moving while the ball is in the cylinder is BI in my book--(I can't quote a rule book reference). EX. Slapping the backboard in an attempt to block a shot while the ball is in the cylinder.
[/B]
You may want to re-think that "slap" comment, Coach. It's completely wrong, by explicit rule. [/B][/QUOTE]

Please give me the rule reference--I have always thought that if you caused the basket (ring/backboard/support) to move while the ball was in the cylinder, that's BI.

If I'm wrong--I need to be corrected (& learn something!)

It just doesn't seem right that a player can slap the backboard in an attempt to block a shot (causing the basket/support to rock) while the ball is in the cylinder, and have that not be BI. I'm sure I have seen it called that way many times.


jritchie Tue Nov 09, 2004 12:40pm

as long as it's not intentional slapping of the backboard going for a blocked shot... you can not call anything even if u think the ball would have went in if the backboard had not of shook a little.... the only thing you can have is a technical foul if you think the slap was intentional!!!! rule 10.3.5.b says "intentionally slap and cause to vibrate" if they are going for a blocked shot they were not intentionally trying to make the backboard/rim shake... no violation, Although many referees call goaltending to make the offense happy...


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:29am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1