The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Technical and/or BI? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/16361-technical-bi.html)

Jurassic Referee Tue Nov 09, 2004 06:39pm

Quote:

Originally posted by BushRef
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Hey, come to think of it, this might make one of those great FED test questions:

Question #101- <i>" A defender hangs on the ring to avoid injury. A1 shoots, and his shot then hits the ring while it is still moving from the defender grasping the ring, but after the defender has released the ring. After hitting the still moving ring, the ball then goes in. The try counts.

True or false?</i>

True.

Nope, correct answer is False.

The try doesn't count because the ball is dead as soon as the whistle goes for the BI. The ball then went in after the BI was called...i.e. the actual try doesn't count, but you still have 2 points AWARDED for the BI. Same result, but different rules verbiage applying.

As I said, a perfect exam question for the FED. They love trying to get us with this kind of question.


Jurassic Referee Tue Nov 09, 2004 06:46pm

Quote:

Originally posted by BushRef
[/B]
I disagree. OK, not really, but where's the ruling? [/B][/QUOTE]Oh ye of little faith...... :D

http://www.nfhs.org/scriptcontent/va...Category_ID=29

Click on this link, then look up "Rules Interpretations Release Date: 11/7/03" near the bottom of the left-hand column and click on that. Check out Situation 15. This is a year-old interpretation. Still valid but eminently forgettable. I don't have a clue why it never made this year's case book.

Dan_ref Tue Nov 09, 2004 09:21pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by BushRef
I disagree. OK, not really, but where's the ruling? [/B]
Oh ye of little faith...... :D

http://www.nfhs.org/scriptcontent/va...Category_ID=29

Click on this link, then look up "Rules Interpretations Release Date: 11/7/03" near the bottom of the left-hand column and click on that. Check out Situation 15. This is a year-old interpretation. Still valid but eminently forgettable. I don't have a clue why it never made this year's case book. [/B][/QUOTE]

Hmmmm.....maybe I gotta make a phone call on this...

Jurassic Referee Tue Nov 09, 2004 10:02pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by BushRef
I disagree. OK, not really, but where's the ruling?
Oh ye of little faith...... :D

http://www.nfhs.org/scriptcontent/va...Category_ID=29

Click on this link, then look up "Rules Interpretations Release Date: 11/7/03" near the bottom of the left-hand column and click on that. Check out Situation 15. This is a year-old interpretation. Still valid but eminently forgettable. I don't have a clue why it never made this year's case book. [/B]
Hmmmm.....maybe I gotta make a phone call on this... [/B][/QUOTE]Dan, look in the front of your 2003-04 Case Book under "Comments on the 2003-04 Revisions" on p3. You'll see <b>9.11.4SITUATION</b> near the bottom of the page. That play is similar to Situation 15 on the NFHS web-site that I referred to, except that a part(c) has been added. That (c) part talks about BI not being applicable after the ring stops vibrating(returns to it's normal position). Note that it says "vibrating" and not "stopped moving up and down". I read that as the ring having to come to a complete rest again before the BI restrictions come off. Sound logical?

coachz_216 Wed Nov 10, 2004 09:43am

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:

Originally posted by jritchie
so if it hadn't returned to it's position before the ball hit it(or as you say, rim was still moving) then it has to be basket interference...no T as long as he was avoiding injury
I believe once it returns to it's original locked position there can't be BI, even if the ring's still rockin'.



Ah, time to finish this one off. It's been fun.

Nope, by rule you can have BI up until the time that the ring stops moving. Ergo, the proper call in this sitch is:
1) No "T" for B1 legally hanging on the rim to prevent injury.
2) In the case where the shot hits the still-moving ring and goes in--- whistle as soon as the shot touches the moving ring because BI is called on B1 as soon as the ball hits the moving ring...no try even though the shot went in because the ball is dead as soon as the whistle for the BI was blown... award 2 points to A2 for the BI...team B gets the ball OOB for a throw-in and can run the end line.
3) In there case where the shot hits the still-moving ring and falls off...whistle as soon as ball hits the moving ring and call BI on B1. Award 2 points to A2. Team B gets the ball OOB for a throw-in, and can run the end line.

If anybody disagrees, I'll tell you where to find the ruling.

I weighed in on this one yesterday (although not with much weight!) and I thought that this was the correct call. Thanks for clearifying it and later supporting it with the rule reference.

It's good to know my instincts aren't all wrong.


Dan_ref Wed Nov 10, 2004 11:06am

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by BushRef
I disagree. OK, not really, but where's the ruling?
Oh ye of little faith...... :D

http://www.nfhs.org/scriptcontent/va...Category_ID=29

Click on this link, then look up "Rules Interpretations Release Date: 11/7/03" near the bottom of the left-hand column and click on that. Check out Situation 15. This is a year-old interpretation. Still valid but eminently forgettable. I don't have a clue why it never made this year's case book.
Hmmmm.....maybe I gotta make a phone call on this... [/B]
Dan, look in the front of your 2003-04 Case Book under "Comments on the 2003-04 Revisions" on p3. You'll see <b>9.11.4SITUATION</b> near the bottom of the page. That play is similar to Situation 15 on the NFHS web-site that I referred to, except that a part(c) has been added. That (c) part talks about BI not being applicable after the ring stops vibrating(returns to it's normal position). Note that it says "vibrating" and not "stopped moving up and down". I read that as the ring having to come to a complete rest again before the BI restrictions come off. Sound logical? [/B][/QUOTE]

Yep, very good!

Hard Thu Nov 11, 2004 01:15pm

In reading all of the responses to this question, I didn't find any that addressed the way I would have seen this play:

If B1 goes straight up, and A1 cuts under him/her to the point where he/she(B1)has to grab something for safety reasons, it seems to me that A1 has committed a foul, the ball is dead, and that's where the play ends.(?)

Jurassic Referee Thu Nov 11, 2004 01:42pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Hard
In reading all of the responses to this question, I didn't find any that addressed the way I would have seen this play:

If B1 goes straight up, and A1 cuts under him/her to the point where he/she(B1)has to grab something for safety reasons, it seems to me that A1 has committed a foul, the ball is dead, and that's where the play ends.(?)

No foul if B1 hangs on the rim to avoid being undercut by A1. You can't have a personal foul on A1 without contact occurring.

rainmaker Thu Nov 11, 2004 02:56pm

This very play is the best reason I can think of to stick to high school girls. ** small sigh of happiness **


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:10pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1