The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 08, 2004, 03:39pm
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Question

A1 is driving for a layup. B1, who is following, screams right in A1's ear as A1 is about to shoot.

Do you call a T on B1 for UC? Do you wait to see if the shot goes in? Would you call it differently at "lower levels"? We had a discussion about this at last night's meeting.
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 08, 2004, 03:56pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Lightbulb

Quote:
Originally posted by Mark Padgett
A1 is driving for a layup. B1, who is following, screams right in A1's ear as A1 is about to shoot.

Do you call a T on B1 for UC? Do you wait to see if the shot goes in? Would you call it differently at "lower levels"? We had a discussion about this at last night's meeting.
First time, I'll let it go.
Second time, I may think about warning.
mick
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 08, 2004, 05:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 480
Quote:
Originally posted by mick
Quote:
Originally posted by Mark Padgett
A1 is driving for a layup. B1, who is following, screams right in A1's ear as A1 is about to shoot.

Do you call a T on B1 for UC? Do you wait to see if the shot goes in? Would you call it differently at "lower levels"? We had a discussion about this at last night's meeting.
First time, I'll let it go.
Second time, I may think about warning.
mick
First time I give a warning...there is no second time.
__________________
"We judge ourselves by what we feel capable of doing, while others judge us by what we have already done."
Chris Z.
Detroit/SE Michigan
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 08, 2004, 05:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Idaho
Posts: 1,476
Not enough information

Quote:
Originally posted by Mark Padgett
A1 is driving for a layup. B1, who is following, screams right in A1's ear as A1 is about to shoot.

Do you call a T on B1 for UC? Do you wait to see if the shot goes in? Would you call it differently at "lower levels"? We had a discussion about this at last night's meeting.
Many years back.... Having been the recipient of the screaming of an immature putz of a self appointed drill seargent type, I know that screaming in someone's ear can cause serious pain and possible damage.

I'm leaning towards the "KNOCK IT OFF" response. However if I felt pain was inflicted and it was a blatant unsportsman-like act, I might just as likely call a flagrant foul and eject. In that case I would consider it a safety issue and justify to the coach that this act could potentially inflict permanent damage - I don't realistically see this ever happening; if the defender is close enough to be nibbling on his ear, then the defender is close enough to play some legitimate defense.

__________________
"There are no superstar calls. We don't root for certain teams. We don't cheat. But sometimes we just miss calls." - Joe Crawford
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 08, 2004, 05:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
...and I know who brought it up! What's the verdict for TBA, Mark? Does someone get his way this year?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 08, 2004, 06:28pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Re: Not enough information

[QUOTE]Originally posted by DownTownTonyBrown
[B]
Quote:
Originally posted by Mark Padgett
I don't realistically see this ever happening; if the defender is close enough to be nibbling on his ear, then the defender is close enough to play some legitimate defense.
I'm there.

If the defender just screams without playing "D" at that range, then I know I am in another part of the country.
mick
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 08, 2004, 09:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,104
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
I think that this is unsporting, personally; but I've been told by my board interpreter that it's not to be considered a technical foul.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 08, 2004, 10:56pm
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Exclamation

Quote:
Originally posted by rainmaker
...and I know who brought it up! What's the verdict for TBA, Mark? Does someone get his way this year?
Yeah, you guessed it. This is a rec league folks. The official league rules will say that doing this "may result in a technical foul being called for unsportsmanlike conduct". Of course, using the term "may" doesn't give clear direction to the officials.

There were three schools of thought at the meeting:

1) call the T regardless of whether the shot went in or not because the intent is what should be penalized

2) the first time, give a warning to both teams, then call T's from then on

3) this isn't golf - it's a no-call

Guess which one I support? HEEHEEHEEHEE
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:56pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1