The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 17, 2004, 11:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Welcome to the forum, chas. No team may be in control of the ball for 10 seconds while the ball has backcourt status.

So your question isn't really phrased correctly. The offensive team does not have to possess the ball in the front court in order to end the 10 second count. But in some cases, merely touching the ball to the frontcourt will not give the ball frontcourt status.

If the ball is being passed or thrown or is loose, then touching the frontcourt or any player or equipment (backboard, basket) in the frontcourt is sufficient to give the ball frontcourt status.

However, if the ball is being dribbled from backcourt to frontcourt, then the ball and both feet of the dribbler must touch in the frontcourt in order for the ball to have frontcourt status. If the player is standing in the backcourt, but dribbling the ball so that it is bouncing in the frontcourt, the 10 second count continues. The ball is still considered to be in the backcourt.

Hope that helps.

__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:49pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1