The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   test question 25 (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/15826-test-question-25-a.html)

zac Sun Oct 10, 2004 10:09pm

True or false--
When the ball is bounced to the free thrower, it is at his or her disposal when released by the official.

My thinking is the ball has to be in the hands of the free thrower to be considered at their disposal so false would be the answer. But after reading 8-1 I'm not sure.

Thanks for the help.

mick Sun Oct 10, 2004 10:21pm

http://www.officialforum.com/thread/15809

Back In The Saddle Sun Oct 10, 2004 10:25pm

Quote:

Originally posted by zac
True or false--
When the ball is bounced to the free thrower, it is at his or her disposal when released by the official.

My thinking is the ball has to be in the hands of the free thrower to be considered at their disposal so false would be the answer. But after reading 8-1 I'm not sure.

Thanks for the help.

From 8.1.1 RULING: ...the ball becomes live when it is caught by the free thrower.

Imagine if you will, a couple of not so far fetched situations. The administering official goes to bounce the ball to the thrower, but it squirts out of his hands and bounces slowly toward the thrower, taking 3-4 seconds to get there. Or, the official makes a less than ideal bounce pass to the thrower and the thrower fumbles the lame pass. It takes the thrower a couple of seconds to get the ball under control. Is it fair, in either case, to be counting? No. The ten second count can only logically begin when the thrower catches it (ignoring for now the possibility of the official placing the ball on the floor).

<Edit added here>
Also, from 4-4-7 A ball is at the disposal of a player when it is: b. caught by a player after it is bounced to him/her.

[Edited by Back In The Saddle on Oct 10th, 2004 at 11:30 PM]

rainmaker Mon Oct 11, 2004 12:01am

Quote:

Originally posted by mick
http://www.officialforum.com/thread/15809
Been taking lessons from Chuck?

mick Mon Oct 11, 2004 06:11am

Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by mick
http://www.officialforum.com/thread/15809
Been taking lessons from Chuck?

Yes.
Every chance I get.

Jurassic Referee Mon Oct 11, 2004 06:13am

Quote:

Originally posted by mick
Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Been taking lessons from Chuck? [/B]
Yes.
Every chance I get. [/B][/QUOTE]Are they short lessons?

SamIAm Mon Oct 11, 2004 09:04am

The ten second count can only logically begin when the thrower catches it (ignoring for now the possibility of the official placing the ball on the floor).

I think we all know you mean "five second" count.
(If we all know it, why did I post it).

Jurassic Referee Mon Oct 11, 2004 09:16am

Quote:

Originally posted by SamIAm
The ten second count can only logically begin when the thrower catches it (ignoring for now the possibility of the official placing the ball on the floor).

I think we all know you mean "five second" count.
(If we all know it, why did I post it).

The administering official on a FT can use the resumption-of-play procedure and CAN place the ball on the floor in the circle and will start a 10-second count- not a 5-second count- if the FTer isn't in the circle. NFHS rules 8-1-2 and 8-4.

[Edited by Jurassic Referee on Oct 11th, 2004 at 10:20 AM]

rockyroad Mon Oct 11, 2004 09:24am

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by mick
Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Been taking lessons from Chuck?
Yes.
Every chance I get. [/B]
Are they short lessons? [/B][/QUOTE]

I don't get it...

Jurassic Referee Mon Oct 11, 2004 09:28am

Quote:

Originally posted by rockyroad
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by mick
Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Been taking lessons from Chuck?
Yes.
Every chance I get.
Are they short lessons? [/B]
I don't get it... [/B][/QUOTE]I've heard that.....

ChuckElias Mon Oct 11, 2004 10:00am

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by mick
Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Been taking lessons from Chuck?
Yes.
Every chance I get. [/B]
Are they short lessons? [/B][/QUOTE]
In the immortal words of Eric Cartman, "Screw you guys. I'm going home." :p

Dan_ref Mon Oct 11, 2004 10:23am

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by rockyroad
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by mick
Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Been taking lessons from Chuck?
Yes.
Every chance I get.
Are they short lessons?
I don't get it... [/B]
I've heard that..... [/B][/QUOTE]Heard what...?

Jurassic Referee Mon Oct 11, 2004 10:34am

Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by rockyroad
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by mick
Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Been taking lessons from Chuck?
Yes.
Every chance I get.
Are they short lessons?
I don't get it...
I've heard that..... [/B]
Heard what...? [/B][/QUOTE]That!

rockyroad Mon Oct 11, 2004 11:14am

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by mick
Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Been taking lessons from Chuck?
Yes.
Every chance I get.
Are they short lessons? [/B]
In the immortal words of Eric Cartman, "Screw you guys. I'm going home." :p [/B][/QUOTE]

Yeah, me too!!

Back In The Saddle Mon Oct 11, 2004 12:01pm

Quote:

Originally posted by SamIAm
The ten second count can only logically begin when the thrower catches it (ignoring for now the possibility of the official placing the ball on the floor).

I think we all know you mean "five second" count.
(If we all know it, why did I post it).

For a throw in, you would be correct. For a free-throw, which was the original question, it's a ten second count.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:19am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1