The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #36 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 15, 2004, 07:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Re: Re: the rule says

Quote:
Originally posted by tjchamp
Quote:
Originally posted by jritchie

10.3.5b while a try is in flight etc...slap or strike the backboard intentionally OR STRIKE THE BACKBOARD OR CAUSE IT TO VIBRATE....TECHNICAL FOUL... so if you miss the ball and cause it to shake you got a "T" no question... no matter if all 10 can play above the rim
By changing the wording, you change the meaning. Rule 10.3.5b actually states: "While a try or tap is in flight or is touching the backboard or is in the basket or in the cylinder above the basket, intentionally slap or strike the backboard or cause the ring to vibrate." You have to intentionally slap or strike. When I go up for the block, my intention is to block the shot, not strike the backboard to cause it to vibrate.
By leaving the wording exactly as it is, there are two competely valid ways to read the sentence. I've attempted to illistrate the two possible breakdowns of the sentence.

A player shall not

  • While

    • a try or tap is in flight

    • or is touching the backboard

    • or is in the basket

    • or in the cylinder above the basket



  • intentionally

    • slap or strike the backboard

    • or cause the ring to vibrate.



A player shall not

  • While

    • a try or tap is in flight

    • or is touching the backboard

    • or is in the basket

    • or in the cylinder above the basket



  • intentionally slap or strike the backboard

  • or cause the ring to vibrate.


As you can see, the adverb "intentionally" may be attached to one or both of the parts of the compound verb. I do beleive the accepted application is to apply it to both parts.

In an older version of the rule:

  • A player shall not

    • Slap or strike either backboard

    • or cause either ring to vibrate



  • While

    • the ball is in flight during a try or tap

    • or is touching the backboard

    • or is on or in the basket

    • or in the cylinder above the basket.



__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:40pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1