The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 13, 2004, 11:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:
Originally posted by tjchamp
I was taking one of the on-line quizzes at the referee.com site. I'd like to get some clarification.

On A-1's throw in, the ball is outside the cylinder when B2 reaches through the basket from below and knocks the ball away before it can reach the cylinder. What's the call. The answer indicates basket interference. I'm just wondering how that can be the call since A-1 can't make a basket on a throw in.
I suppose if the ball hasn't gotten to the cylinder yet, it's not a shot yet. Team A could be trying for an alley-oop, or he could be trying to throw it over the basket. Since this can't be a legal try, you don't have a violation by A unless the ball actually goes into the net. But B has committed a violation regardless. It's always illegal to reach up through the net and contact the ball. I'm not sure it's BI, though.
Juulie, as I posted earlier whether or not there is a try in progress has no bearing on the BI violation. Touch the ball while it's on the basket (or the basket itself in this case), in the cylinder or while reaching through the basket is a BI violation in any case.

Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:15am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1