The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 10, 2004, 04:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by cford
You have to have your feet within shoulder width in order for it to be a charge (LGP?). If you have your legs spread eagle then it would be a block, right? I can't remember were this is in the book, maybe under LGP?

This might have been the case in this game.
[/B]
The language you are looking for is under "CONTACT" in NFHS rule 10-6-1--"A player shall not.....impede the progress of an opponent by extending an arm, shoulder, hip or knee, or by bending the body into other than a normal position". [/B][/QUOTE]

However, this only matters if the contact is on that extended appendage. If the player is doing the splits but is still hit in the torso, the position of the arms and legs do not matter.

Sounds like this case was simply called wrong. I've heard people before claim similar things.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:32am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1