The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 17, 2001, 01:45pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Question Help me understand

[QUOTE]Originally posted by Camron Rust
Quote:
Originally posted by mick
Quote:
The player went out voluntarily, so the first retouch shouldn't be that player or it will be illegal, I think.
mick
Voluntary or involuntary, it makes no difference. The only rules we have are that a player may not be in control of the ball while OOB (a violation otherwise) and a player may not leave the court for an unauthorized reason (a T).
7.1.1B Play (Paraphrase) A1 is offbalance, steps out, steps in, and gets the ball. Ruling: Legal. A1 did not leave the court voluntarily.

Okay, fine.

In the play posted above, the player jumped out of bounds (voluntary act, no body made him, and he didn't fall), then passed to himself.
The ruling in A1, implys that if the player left the court voluntarily, then the play is illegal.

mick


Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:55pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1