The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Sat Jul 24, 2004, 09:56pm
Official Forum Member

Hi all,

I'm not a newbie to officiating, having done youth basketball for a great number of years. However, I am new to the high school scene (will be entering my 3rd season this upcoming year) and realize I have a lot to work on.

One major part of my game I want to work on is communication with the coaches/assistants/players. I have yet to find a comfortable ground when a coach openly questions my calls as to how to handle it.

One reason I bring it up is because a very well known varsity coach here in the Bay Area was coaching the school's freshman team last night at a summer league. My partner called a player control foul for throwing her elbow out. Later on, as I ran past the coach, he said to me: "She only threw her elbow because she was bumped three times".

I heard it, thought about it, and chose not to say anything. I personally was wondering if I should have said anything back to the coach. However, I thought the call my partner made was pretty obvious.

In any case, I would appreciate any advice from the folks as how you worked on your communication and also how you handle various situations when people get out of line.

Thanks!!
Old Sat Jul 24, 2004, 11:25pm
Official Forum Member

It varies by person, the coach and by the situation. Some situations you can just nod your head and say okay. Some situations you can just say nothing. Some situations you can say that you saw the same thing as your partner. Like I said it varies greatly, the most important thing to do is don't hang your partner out to dry, even if he did make a bad call don't agree with the coach and make your partner look bad.
Old Sun Jul 25, 2004, 01:04am
Official Forum Member

Quote:
Originally posted by coach41
Hi all,