Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by mick
Quote:
Originally posted by ShoeBall
I have an objection to the replies for the original post of this thread.
From the description it sounds like B1 and B2 have established position, but meanwhile before having raised their arms in their vertical plane, A1 has jumped and is somewhat directly above them without making body contact. Then while A1 is in the air above them, B1 and B2 raise their arms vertically and make contact hitting A1 and causing him to lose the ball and fall to the ground.
This sounds like a clear foul to me, at least how i desribed it...am i right?
|
It seems to be that the shooter has penetrated and violated the defenders' vertical space.
A shooter has no additional rights.
|
Andrew didn't really say who the "clear" foul was on- A1 or B1/B2. Agree with Mick. Can't be on either defender, by rule. They each have a legal right to their respective "cones of verticality", and the shooter is outa his "cone of verticality". If you call anything, it's a cheap PC foul.
|
If you no-call this the explanation to the complaining Coach B is that the defense did a good job, stopped the shot legally, and got the ball. Surely that's the best punishment for A1's bad play!
If the shot is made, though, it's not a cheap PC anymore, right? It's a gotta-getta, right?