The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Is it a call (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/14246-call.html)

Dave Dow Sun Jun 20, 2004 07:21pm

A1 is on the side of the lane driving toward the basket, B 1 and B2 are sliding over to a defensive position. They are in the spot for a full 2-3 seconds. A1 starts a drive into them not touching them until he is up in the air, while he is in the air the arms of B1,B2,are goining up into a horizontal position, A1 gets hit buy the arms of the defenders and falls to the ground losing the ball. I was positioned where I could see the play in front of me. I called no foul. was it right??? It is time to become an official and not a fan.

brandan89 Sun Jun 20, 2004 07:25pm

I would have called it a foul.

TravelinMan Sun Jun 20, 2004 07:32pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Dave Dow
A1 is on the side of the lane driving toward the basket, B 1 and B2 are sliding over to a defensive position. They are in the spot for a full 2-3 seconds. A1 starts a drive into them not touching them until he is up in the air, while he is in the air the arms of B1,B2,are goining up into a horizontal position, A1 gets hit buy the arms of the defenders and falls to the ground losing the ball. I was positioned where I could see the play in front of me. I called no foul. was it right??? It is time to become an official and not a fan.
Do you mean the arms of the defenders were raised within their VERTICAL plane? If so, I'd say you had the call correctly. Both defedners can jump vertically and occupy the space within their vertical plane. If they were leaning forward outside their plane, it's a blocking foul.

rainmaker Sun Jun 20, 2004 07:51pm

Quote:

Originally posted by TravelinMan
Quote:

Originally posted by Dave Dow
A1 is on the side of the lane driving toward the basket, B 1 and B2 are sliding over to a defensive position. They are in the spot for a full 2-3 seconds. A1 starts a drive into them not touching them until he is up in the air, while he is in the air the arms of B1,B2,are goining up into a horizontal position, A1 gets hit buy the arms of the defenders and falls to the ground losing the ball. I was positioned where I could see the play in front of me. I called no foul. was it right??? It is time to become an official and not a fan.
Do you mean the arms of the defenders were raised within their VERTICAL plane? If so, I'd say you had the call correctly. Both defedners can jump vertically and occupy the space within their vertical plane. If they were leaning forward outside their plane, it's a blocking foul.

If the defenders' arms were out to the side, and the shooter contacted only the arms or mostly the arms, it's a blocking foul, especially if the defender(s) were moving their arms into that position as the shooter was going up.

TravelinMan Sun Jun 20, 2004 07:54pm

Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by TravelinMan
Quote:

Originally posted by Dave Dow
A1 is on the side of the lane driving toward the basket, B 1 and B2 are sliding over to a defensive position. They are in the spot for a full 2-3 seconds. A1 starts a drive into them not touching them until he is up in the air, while he is in the air the arms of B1,B2,are goining up into a horizontal position, A1 gets hit buy the arms of the defenders and falls to the ground losing the ball. I was positioned where I could see the play in front of me. I called no foul. was it right??? It is time to become an official and not a fan.
Do you mean the arms of the defenders were raised within their VERTICAL plane? If so, I'd say you had the call correctly. Both defedners can jump vertically and occupy the space within their vertical plane. If they were leaning forward outside their plane, it's a blocking foul.

If the defenders' arms were out to the side, and the shooter contacted only the arms or mostly the arms, it's a blocking foul, especially if the defender(s) were moving their arms into that position as the shooter was going up.

Juulie, that's basically what I am saying also. :)

mick Sun Jun 20, 2004 09:29pm

Quote:

Originally posted by TravelinMan
Quote:

Originally posted by Dave Dow
A1 is on the side of the lane driving toward the basket, B 1 and B2 are sliding over to a defensive position. They are in the spot for a full 2-3 seconds. A1 starts a drive into them not touching them until he is up in the air, while he is in the air the arms of B1,B2,are goining up into a horizontal position, A1 gets hit buy the arms of the defenders and falls to the ground losing the ball. I was positioned where I could see the play in front of me. I called no foul. was it right??? It is time to become an official and not a fan.
Do you mean the arms of the defenders were raised within their VERTICAL plane? If so, I'd say you had the call correctly. Both defedners can jump vertically and occupy the space within their vertical plane. If they were leaning forward outside their plane, it's a blocking foul.

TravelinMan,
I'm sure Dave meant vertical, I've seen him work. ;)
mick


TravelinMan Sun Jun 20, 2004 09:59pm

Quote:

Originally posted by mick
Quote:

Originally posted by TravelinMan
Quote:

Originally posted by Dave Dow
A1 is on the side of the lane driving toward the basket, B 1 and B2 are sliding over to a defensive position. They are in the spot for a full 2-3 seconds. A1 starts a drive into them not touching them until he is up in the air, while he is in the air the arms of B1,B2,are goining up into a horizontal position, A1 gets hit buy the arms of the defenders and falls to the ground losing the ball. I was positioned where I could see the play in front of me. I called no foul. was it right??? It is time to become an official and not a fan.
Do you mean the arms of the defenders were raised within their VERTICAL plane? If so, I'd say you had the call correctly. Both defedners can jump vertically and occupy the space within their vertical plane. If they were leaning forward outside their plane, it's a blocking foul.

TravelinMan,
I'm sure Dave meant vertical, I've seen him work. ;)
mick


That's what I surmised too. Pretty much all the officials on this site are rock solid on the basics. Thanks for confirming, though. :)

ShoeBall Mon Jun 21, 2004 04:28am

A Foul?
 
What if B1 is guarding A1 who is driving, by closely staying in front of him (not standing still but running with A1) and both jump at the same time, A1 towards the basket and B1 definitely away from A1, but A1 by means of a greater leap jumps into B1 mid-air and achieves body contact (no contact of B1's arms in attempting to block the shot or any such thing) resulting in A1 mangling the shot?

Foul on B1?


ShoeBall Mon Jun 21, 2004 04:35am

Also
 
I have an objection to the replies for the original post of this thread.

From the description it sounds like B1 and B2 have established position, but meanwhile before having raised their arms in their vertical plane, A1 has jumped and is somewhat directly above them without making body contact. Then while A1 is in the air above them, B1 and B2 raise their arms vertically and make contact hitting A1 and causing him to lose the ball and fall to the ground.

This sounds like a clear foul to me, at least how i desribed it...am i right?

THanks,
Andrew

mick Mon Jun 21, 2004 04:50am

Re: Also
 
Quote:

Originally posted by ShoeBall
I have an objection to the replies for the original post of this thread.

From the description it sounds like B1 and B2 have established position, but meanwhile before having raised their arms in their vertical plane, A1 has jumped and is somewhat directly above them without making body contact. Then while A1 is in the air above them, B1 and B2 raise their arms vertically and make contact hitting A1 and causing him to lose the ball and fall to the ground.

This sounds like a clear foul to me, at least how i desribed it...am i right?

THanks,
Andrew

It seems to be that the shooter has penetrated and violated the defenders' vertical space.
A shooter has no additional rights.
mick

mick Mon Jun 21, 2004 04:53am

Re: A Foul?
 
Quote:

Originally posted by ShoeBall
What if B1 is guarding A1 who is driving, by closely staying in front of him (not standing still but running with A1) and both jump at the same time, A1 towards the basket and B1 definitely away from A1, but A1 by means of a greater leap jumps into B1 mid-air and achieves body contact (no contact of B1's arms in attempting to block the shot or any such thing) resulting in A1 mangling the shot?

Foul on B1?


If you call a foul on B1, you may have "bailed out an "out-of-control" shooter.
If B did nothing wrong, then why would we penalize him?
A shooter has no additional rights.
mick

Jurassic Referee Mon Jun 21, 2004 07:14am

Re: A Foul?
 
Quote:

Originally posted by ShoeBall
What if B1 is guarding A1 who is driving, by closely staying in front of him (not standing still but running with A1) and both jump at the same time, A1 towards the basket and B1 definitely away from A1, <font color = red>but A1 by means of a greater leap jumps into B1 mid-air and achieves body contact</font> (no contact of B1's arms in attempting to block the shot or any such thing) resulting in A1 mangling the shot?

Foul on B1?


A1 jumps INTO B1 and initiates the body contact? Never a foul on B1 unless B1 sneaks under an airborne shooter- which isn't the case in the this example. Iow, I agree with Mick. If you call anything, it has to be a foul on A1.

Jurassic Referee Mon Jun 21, 2004 07:21am

Re: Re: Also
 
Quote:

Originally posted by mick
Quote:

Originally posted by ShoeBall
I have an objection to the replies for the original post of this thread.

From the description it sounds like B1 and B2 have established position, but meanwhile before having raised their arms in their vertical plane, A1 has jumped and is somewhat directly above them without making body contact. Then while A1 is in the air above them, B1 and B2 raise their arms vertically and make contact hitting A1 and causing him to lose the ball and fall to the ground.

This sounds like a clear foul to me, at least how i desribed it...am i right?


It seems to be that the shooter has penetrated and violated the defenders' vertical space.
A shooter has no additional rights.

Andrew didn't really say who the "clear" foul was on- A1 or B1/B2. Agree with Mick. Can't be on either defender, by rule. They each have a legal right to their respective "cones of verticality", and the shooter is outa his "cone of verticality". :D If you call anything, it's a cheap PC foul.

rainmaker Mon Jun 21, 2004 08:16am

Re: Re: Re: Also
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by mick
Quote:

Originally posted by ShoeBall
I have an objection to the replies for the original post of this thread.

From the description it sounds like B1 and B2 have established position, but meanwhile before having raised their arms in their vertical plane, A1 has jumped and is somewhat directly above them without making body contact. Then while A1 is in the air above them, B1 and B2 raise their arms vertically and make contact hitting A1 and causing him to lose the ball and fall to the ground.

This sounds like a clear foul to me, at least how i desribed it...am i right?


It seems to be that the shooter has penetrated and violated the defenders' vertical space.
A shooter has no additional rights.

Andrew didn't really say who the "clear" foul was on- A1 or B1/B2. Agree with Mick. Can't be on either defender, by rule. They each have a legal right to their respective "cones of verticality", and the shooter is outa his "cone of verticality". :D If you call anything, it's a cheap PC foul.

If you no-call this the explanation to the complaining Coach B is that the defense did a good job, stopped the shot legally, and got the ball. Surely that's the best punishment for A1's bad play!

If the shot is made, though, it's not a cheap PC anymore, right? It's a gotta-getta, right?


mick Mon Jun 21, 2004 08:27am

Re: Re: Re: Re: Also
 
Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
If the shot is made, though, it's not a cheap PC anymore, right? It's a gotta-getta, right?

If the shot goes and the defense is put at no disadvantage (minor contact by A1), a *no-call* could easily work.
mick


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:54pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1