The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 06, 2004, 02:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 37
Thanks for everyone's responses on this topic. I'm still trying to clarify the rules that apply to this play. I was searching the books today trying to support a decision on this topic.
Situation: B1 goes airborne to defend a possible shot by A1. B1 leaves the ground first and A1 fakes a shot. After B1 is airborne A1 jumps into B1. In the ref's judgment no contact would have occurred if A1 does not jump in.

This is my opinion and why I would rule this way:

1. Once B1 goes into the air A1 has to allow him to land unless A1 was in this space before B1 became airborne. I know A1 has the ball and is a shooter, but I don't think it has any bearing on this play.
2. 4-19-1 says... it is a player foul which involves illegal contact with an opponent which hinders an opponent from performing normal defensive movements.

I think most of the time this play would be a no call.
I don't think it makes a difference whether A1 jumps forward or sideways.
Comments..... Agree or disagree?
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:38pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1